INSTITUTE of Physical Education and Athletics assistant director Felicitas Francisco told fellow retirees that retiring does not mean an abrupt end to their “lives of service” to the University during the testimonial dinner for faculty honorees last March 28 at the Main Building Lobby.

“Once an educator, always an educator. We have always been called to unceasingly promote Thomasian values beyond the four walls of the classroom. Let us continue to do so.” she said.

Francisco teaches at the College of Education and has served the University for 45 years. She will still teach in UST this school year as an “extendee”.

Faculty of Arts and Letters (Artlets) professor Jose David Lapuz said that the word “retiring” is not in his vocabulary.

“Does retirement mean being ‘tired’ for the second time? For me, it simply means the closing of one door and the opening of a new one towards new perspectives and new horizons,” he said.

“They say life begins at 40. I say life does not end at 65,” outgoing College of Commerce Dean Amelia Halili said.

The dinner is held annually for faculty members who reach the mandatory retirement age of 65 years old and those who opt for early retirement.

“I know that I cannot thank them (retirees) enough for the dedicated service they rendered to the University. I am only one among the many who wish to say the same words of gratitude—the many lives they have touched, the many people they have molded and formed,” Fr. Rector Tamerlane Lana said.

Cool techies for the new school year

The other honorees were professors Rogelio Obusan, Amor Pedro, and Gerrie Ann Cheng (Artlets); Orlando Calilung, Lorenza Cruz, Rogelio delos Santos, Virginia Mata, Evelyn Oliquino, Annabelia Reyes, and Ramon Roda (Commerce); Ester Bayani, Socorro Borbon, Imelda Lapid, Rizalina Mellendrez, Ofelia Quetulio, and Conrado Rabor (Education); Aida Jurilla (Elementary); Reynaldo Roa (Engineering); Mario Santiago (College of Fine Arts and Design); Helen Escolano (Pay High School); Vicente Chiong, Nenita Co, Corazon Lim, Victoriano Lim, Lilia Marquinez, Jose Oconer, and Carmelita Navarro (Faculty of Medicine and Surgery); Aurora Francisco (Faculty of Pharmacy); Claribel Bunag (Institute of Religion); and Juliana Amos and Erlinda Mallari (College of Science). Elka Krystle R. Requinta with reports from Brix Gil M. Bayuga


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.