Three major television stations dominated the finalists for Best Programs of 2004 in the first USTV Students’ Choice Awards themed, “TV on TV: Thomasian Visions on Television.”

The mainstream programs of long-time rivals ABS-CBN and GMA-7 gained the votes of the Thomasian community.

ABS-CBN’s wholly-owned subsidiary, Studio 23, completes the three finalists for the Best TV Station category.

The final candidates for the Best News Program are TV Patrol, 24 Oras, and Saksi; I-Witness, The Correspondents, and Pipol for Best documentary Programs; F!, Sports Unlimited, and The Buzz for Best Magazine Programs; the Best Talk Show Programs are The BUZZ, Good Morning Kris, and Startalk, the Best Drama Programs are Maalala Mo Kaya, It Might Be You, and Mulawin; and OK! Fine Whatever, Bubble Gang, and Misadventures of Ariel and Maverick are the finalists for the Best Comedy Programs.

The nominees for television personalities include Korina Sanchez, Mel Tiangco, and Karen Davila for the Best Female News Anchor category; while the finalists for Best Male News Anchor category are Julius Babao, Mike Enriquez, and Arnold Clavio.

On the other hand, the finalists for Best Female Program Host are Kris Aquino, Toni Gonzaga, and Pia Guanio, while the Best Male Program Host finalists are Boy Abunda, Paolo Bediones, and Vic Sotto.

Meanwhile, the finalists for the Popular TV Productions categories will be announced after the winners in the Best Programs of 2004 categories are released.

The criteria that were used by the student in the nominations include the promotion of Christian values, excellence in craft and vision, originality and the reflection of Thomasian vision of truth with charity. Same criteria would be used by the panel of judges.

Pilosopiyang Pilipino sa ika-21 siglo

The panel is composed of Secretary-General Fr. Isidro Abaño, O.P. as the chair of the judges, Prof. Jose Victor Torres, College of Education Regent Romulo Rodriguez, O.P. Fr., alumnus Bienvenido Lumbera, as well as five student as chosen by Secretary-General and the Central Student Council. John Rheeno T. Cabangalan with reports from Mary Elaine V. Gonda


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.