LEGAL management junior Krizia Bricio will lead the Central Student Council (CSC) in Academic Year 2021-2022.

Bricio, who ran for the highest CSC seat after serving as council secretary for two years, was proclaimed president-elect on Friday, May 15.

Bricio said she would focus on creating a “policy-driven,” more efficient, accountable and transparent CSC by revising its constitution.

“I am hoping that we will be able to set our whole [year’s] agenda and our [timetable] for the revision on our first meeting or second meeting,” Bricio told the Varsitarian.

Bricio, who ran unopposed, won 24,896 votes cast online. A total of 3,952 Thomasians did not vote for president.

Gerald Matthew de la Cruz, another legal management junior, was elected vice president after winning 23,587 votes. Non-votes totaled 5,261.

The lone candidate for secretary, Arnet Paguirigan, a journalism junior, was proclaimed secretary with 23,811 votes. A total of 5,037 ballots were unanswered.

Education junior Gabriele de Lara dominated the election for public relations officer, garnering 11,067 votes. He bested marketing management junior Jerome Espinas, who got 8,529 votes, and information technology junior Carl Jeric Mataga, who got 4,812 votes. 

A total of 4,440 ballots were left unanswered.

All candidates in this year’s student polls ran independently. No student ran for the treasurer and auditor posts.

The Varsitarian reached out to the UST Central Commission on Elections (Comelec) about the voter turnout for this year’s polls but did not receive a response as of posting.

The new Central Board of Students, composed of local student council presidents, was also proclaimed and will serve as the legislative arm of the CSC for next year.

The newly elected local student council presidents are Lynnuelle Corocotchia (Accountancy), Lu Bernadette Leyva (Architecture), Nathan Raphael Agustin (Civil Law), Benedict Sibley Kawi (Conservatory of Music), Heather Anne Montalban (Education), Keanni Lae Baylon (Fine Arts and Design), Christophe Joshua Lopez (EHS), Kyla Christine Sarcos (Engineering), Jazper Jhun Bautista (JHS), Naomi Claire Estavillo (SHS), Mary Clare Dominique Quimson (Nursing), John Cyril Alnajes (Medicine and Surgery), Mishaila Lia Gomez (Pharmacy), Paul Raeoiux Mendinueto (Physical Education and Athletics), Jan Therese Parcon (Rehabilitation Sciences), Dean Lotus Alano (Science), Gershei Mae Quirao (Tourism and Hospitality Management).

No candidate ran for president in the Faculty of Arts and Letters.

The College of Commerce and Business Administration, Institute of Information and Computing Sciences, and Ecclesiastical Faculties (Canon Law, Philosophy, and Sacred Theology) will be holding special elections next academic year as no student filed for candidacy this year, their Comelec units announced.

Voting for the CSC elections lasted for four days starting May 11 until May 15 (excluding May 13) through an electronic voting system.

Winners were proclaimed via Facebook live.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.