The University, together with the UST Faculty Union, honors outstanding faculty members during the 2024 Dangal ng UST Awards on Thursday, May 9, at the Quadricentennial Pavilion. (Photo by Patrice Jerica A. Beltran/ The Varsitarian)

THE UNIVERSITY recognized 368 faculty members and administrative staff for their achievements and outstanding service in the 2024 Dangal ng UST Awards, held on May 9 at the Quadricentennial Pavilion.

Awardees from Academic Year 2018 to 2019, Academic Year 2019 to 2020, and Academic Year 2020 to 2021 were recognized during the ceremony, the first to be held in person since the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic. 

In his address, Acting Rector Fr. Isaias Tiongco, O.P., said the granting of awards was a testament to the resilience of Thomasian educators who had endured the challenges brought about by the health crisis.

“Ang pandemya ay sumubok sa ating katatagan ngunit ito rin ay nagturo sa atin ng kahalagahan ng ‘pagtahay,’ sa salitang ingles po ‘resiliency’ or ‘adaption’ at ‘pagbabago,’” Tiongco said.

“Kayo pong mga guro ay nagsilbing ilaw at gabay para sa ating mga mag-aaral sa mga panahong tila ba madilim at walang kasiguraduhan,” he added. “Inyong ipinakita ang kahalagahan ng pagtuturo, pagkamalikhain, pagtitiyaga na nababalot ng panalangin at pag-asa.”

Former College of Science dean and UST Graduate School professor Thomas de la Cruz received the Hall of Fame Award, the highest distinction.

The Hall of Fame Award is presented to individuals who have received at least three Dangal ng UST Awards, excluding the Gawad Benavides and Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz.

Additionally, 83 recipients were bestowed the Gawad Benavides, a loyalty award given to Thomasian educators who have dedicated at least two decades of service to the University.

Professor Emeritus Fortunato Sevilla III of the College of Science, who has been a faculty member for 50 years, led the recipients of the Gawad Benavides.

Among those honored with the loyalty award for their 20 years of service were Varsitarian advisers Asst. Prof. Joselito Zulueta and Asst. Prof. Christian Esguerra.

Esguerra also received the Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz, which recognizes individuals with exceptional national and international achievements.

He was recognized for his 2019 Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility Award of Distinction and his 2020 McLuhan Fellow for Excellence in Journalism from the Embassy of Canada in the Philippines.

He was joined by 22 other recipients of the Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz.

Twenty-three Thomasian educators and administrators were honored with the Gawad San Alberto Magno for their outstanding research and innovation.

Additionally, 12 faculty members received the Gawad Santo Tomas in recognition of their teaching performance, active participation in research, and service to the community.

Lourdes Fatima Ramos was honored with the Gawad San Raymundo Peñafort for her outstanding work as a librarian, while Ma. Carla Mabasa and Marie Lalaine Recio were recognized with the Gawad San Martin de Porres for their work as guidance counselors.

Prof. Teresa Tricia Bautista, Prof. Wilhelmina Mercado, and Asst. Prof. Karen Sagun received the Gawad Santo Domingo for their development work.

The Dangal ng UST Awards, which honor faculty members, guidance counselors, and librarians for their contributions to the University in the areas of teaching, research, and service, was organized by the UST Office of the Vice Rector for Academic Affairs and the UST Faculty Union.

This year’s theme was “Gurong Tomasino sa Pagbangon, Paglalakabay at Pagsulong.”


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.