CSC Executive Board has full slate next academic year

File Photo.

21 April 2018, 11:30 p.m. – A COMPLETE Central Student Council (CSC) Executive Board will lead the Thomasian student body next academic year, turning the page from massive abstentions last year.

Political science junior Francis Gabriel “Kiko” Santos was elected president with 13,351 votes, beating Civil Law sophomore Karizza Kamille Cruz who obtained 9,414 votes. A total of 3,383 Thomasians opted to leave their ballots unanswered for the post.

Lone vice-presidential bet Victor Amores, a biochemistry junior, is the new CSC vice president, getting 15,241 votes. A total of 10,907 ballots were left unanswered.

Medicine freshman Robert Dominic Gonzales was proclaimed secretary with 9,818 votes, beating journalism junior Carol Anne Balita who garnered 9,156 votes. A total of 7,174 ballots were left unanswered.

Sole candidate for treasurer Alek Pierce Joell Santa Ana, a marketing management junior, won with 14,759 votes. A total of 11,389 ballots were left unanswered.

Adrian Lee Fernando, a medical technology junior, was proclaimed auditor with 14,587 votes while 11,561 ballots were left unanswered.

Jeanne Nicole Naval was elected public relations officer (PRO), garnering 7,649 votes. She bested political science juniors Jan Krianne Pineda and Jeremiah Pasion who got 6,645 and 6,273 votes, respectively. A total of 5,581 ballots were left unanswered.

Santos, who served as CSC PRO, said the full-slate CSC Executive Board would be a “game-changer,” after last year’s two-man council.

“[Having complete CSC officers] would be a game-changer kasi nasanay ako na ang dami kong ginagampanang tungkulin, pero this time ‘di naman mababago yun kasi [I] had the opportunity to work with different people sa loob ng CSC [and] from different groups or organizations here in UST,” Santos told the Varsitarian in an interview.

In retrospect: Looking into CSC’s accomplishments

All candidates for this year’s CSC elections ran independently, as Lakas Tomasino Coalition was suspended for one year and Lakas ng Diwang Tomasino, the sole student political party to be accredited, did not field any candidates.

Comelec Chairman Arvin Carlo Bersonda said the election process was smooth this year.

“What we could do now is to improve the election process. At least we have seen how the system works and it [gave] me a proud moment since it is a system made by Thomasians… We’re looking forward to [using] it next elections,” Bersonda said.

The newly elected presidents of the different faculties and colleges of the University will become members of the next CSC Central Board, the student body’s legislative arm.

They are Jealar Lazaga (Accountancy), Rafael Arellano (Arts and Letters), Maria Dascha Uy (Architecture), Nikki Mei Ko (Civil Law), Carl Joseph Reyes (Commerce), Maricris Chuang (Education), Kristienne Mary Magsanoc (Education High School), Catherine Rose Sta. Romana (Engineering), Marianne Therese Lacap (Information and Computing Sciences), Jheanna Delleopac (Junior High School), Lance Estenar (Medicine and Surgery), Carlo Miguel Sarrosa (Pharmacy), John Alfred Rabena (Philosophy), Bryan Joshua Casao (Physical Education and Athletics), Bro. Sandy Alerta, O.P. (Sacred Theology), Vashwin Amarnani (Science), Ma. Taña Sanchez (Senior High School), Mikaela Janelle Mallorca (Nursing) and John Louis Torres (Tourism and Hospitality Management)

The College of Fine Arts and Design (CFAD), College of Rehabilitation Sciences and the Faculty of Canon Law will conduct their elections from April 23 to 27. Winners of their respective local student councils will be proclaimed on April 27.

Students' Code, in-campus protests, student-prof relationship tackled in CSC mandatory debate

Ivan Pulanco, Comelec secretary to the adjudicatory, said the local Comelec units of CFAD, Rehabilitation Sciences, and Canon Law would release resolutions regarding their local elections.

“They’re currently working it out but we need to wait for the resolution of the individual units in order to get a full picture of who was proclaimed or if special elections are necessary. We expect resolutions to be published within five days from the different units around the university,” Pulanco told the Varsitarian.

The schedule for the elections of the Conservatory of Music has yet to be announced, after candidates were disqualified.

Comelec announced on March 8 the removal of the “abstain” option in the online ballots, in compliance with the order of the Central Judiciary Board. Voters were left with the option to leave positions unanswered.

This year, 26,148 out of a population of 38,045 students, or 68.72 percent, participated in the University-wide student elections, an increase from last year’s voter turnout of 28,858 out of 43,762 students or 66 percent.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.