THE CARLOS Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, the longest-running literary contest in the country, is back for its 70th edition after a two-year hiatus brought by the Covid-19 pandemic.

“We know that the past two years have been very challenging for everyone because of the pandemic,” said Palanca spokesperson Bernardita Ben said in a press release. “As we slowly get back on track and ease into the new normal, we believe the time is ripe too, once again, to promote and celebrate Philippine literature and honor our literary artists.”

The Palanca will accept submissions to its regular categories:

  • Novel and Nobela
  • For the English category: 
    • Short Story
    • Short Story for Children
    • Essay
    • Poetry, 
    • Poetry Written for Children
    • One-act Play 
    • Full-length Play
  • For the Filipino category:
    • Maikling Kuwento
    • Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
    • Sanaysay 
    • Tula
    • Tulang Para sa mga Bata
    • Dulang May Isang Yugto 
    • Dulang Ganap ang Haba
    • Dulang Pampelikula
  • For the Regional Languages category:
    • Short Story-Cebuano
    • Short Story-Hiligaynon
    • Short Story-Ilokano

A “Kabataan Division” will also be open for writers below 18 years old for the English and Filipino categories and must follow the themes “Life in the Midst of the Pandemic and Coping in the New Normal” and “Buhay sa Gitna ng Pandemya at Pagharap sa ‘New Normal,” respectively.

The contest is open to all Filipino citizens or former Filipino citizens of all ages except directors, officers, and employees of the Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc.

Authors who wish to join may submit only one (1) entry per category.

Entries are due by May 31. The official contest rules and entry forms can be found on the official website of the Palanca Awards.

The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature is an annual literary event funded by the Carlos Palanca Foundation Inc.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.