Sept. 25 2016, 9:40 p.m. – THOMASIAN alumni were honored in the 25th Business Journalism Awards, besting other reporters in the craft.

Marie Carisa Ordinario of BusinessMirror and Miguel Camus of the Philippine Daily Inquirer were named Reporters of the Year for Macroeconomy and Telecommunications and Transport, respectively. Lorenz Marasigan, also from BusinessMirror, received the Best Business Feature award.

Ordinario and Marasigan are journalism alumni, while Camus obtained his bachelor’s degree in economics from UST.

“This award would not have been possible without my editors and fellow reporters, especially those in the macro cluster of BusinessMirror. So I am very thankful for their help and inspiration,” Ordinario, a former Varsitarian news editor, said in an interview.

UST Journalism coordinator Jeremaiah Opiniano said the journalism program was proud of the accomplishments of its alumni.

“Curiosity remains the muscle to learn even the ‘toughest’ of beats. We hope then that canny news gathering and ethics will be the next ‘awards’ our alumni will be known for,” Opiniano said in an interview.

Organized by the Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines (Ejap), this year’s Business Journalism Awards was sponsored by the Ayala Group of Companies. The awarding ceremony took place last Sept. 23 at the Ayala Museum.

Former Finance undersecretary Milwida Guevara led this year’s panel of judges. Members were former Finance undersecretary Romeo Bernardo, Bank of the Philippine Islands Director Ignacio Bunye, ING Manila President Consuelo Garcia, Electric Vehicles Association of the Philippines President Rommel Juan, Meralco first vice president William Pamintuan, and former Board of Investments managing director Cristino Panlilio.

Thomasian award winners in the past include Alexis Romero, Richmond Mercurio and Lawrence Agcaoili of the Philippine Star; Angela Lorraine Celis-Mercurio of Malaya Business Insight; and Paolo Montecillo of Philippine Daily Inquirer.

Ejap is the Philippines’ main organization of economic journalists, editors and publishers from print and broadcast media organizations, with around 100 members.

The organization gives awards for achievements in Finance, Banking, Macroeconomy, Commodities (Agriculture and Mining), Energy, Infrastructure, Trade and Investments and Capital Markets reporting. Christian de Lano M. Deiparine


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.