The UST Male Tennisters clinch back-to-back championships after prevailing over the Ateneo Blue Eagles, 3-1, in Game 3 of the UAAP Season 86 men's tennis finals at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Court on Sunday, April 7. (Photo by Jeremy R. Edera/ The Varsitarian)

THE UST Male Tennisters retained their UAAP title after cruising to a 3-1 victory against the Ateneo Blue Eagles in Game 3 of the Season 86 men’s tennis finals at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum on Sunday, April 7.

UST extended its record as the winningest team in UAAP history with 16 championships.

In the first singles match, Ateneo’s Noy Seno overwhelmed Christopher Sonsona, 6-1, 6-0.

Season 86 MVP Nilo Ledama made his doubles debut, teaming up with eventual Finals MVP Steven Sonsona to defeat Blue Eagles Nio Tria and Axl Gonzaga with a commanding 6-2, 6-1 victory.

Male Tennister Ericjay Tangub then clinched a 6-1, 6-4 win against Austin de los Santos to move UST closer to the championship.  

UST’s tandem of Richard Bautista and Nash Agustines completed UST’s title-retention bid after a 6-4, 6-2 drubbing of  Blue Eagles JJ Llavore and Stef Gurria. 

“Sobrang worth it ng pagod namin kasi everyday practice, kahit noong Holy Week hindi kami umuwi sa probinsya,” UST head coach Alexander Diego told the Varsitarian. “Deserve ng mga players ng championship  kasi sobrang nahirapan din talaga sila makuha ito.”

UST’s core lineup will stay for Season 87, with only reserve tennister Mark Alfred Directo graduating this year.