TWO JOURNALISM seniors and a Biology major will lead the Varsitarian’s 84th batch.

Former Varsitarian News reporter Rafael Antonio, a fourth-year Journalism student, is this year’s editor in chief, replacing AB Legal Management graduate Alexis Ailex Villamor, Jr. who is now UST Law freshman.

Joining Antonio in the Editorial Board are Biology senior and former Witness (Religion) editor Brylle Tabora as managing editor, and associate editor James Bryan Agustin, also a Journalism senior and a former Witness writer.

Journalism junior Reden Madrid and Journalism senior Maria Luisa Mamaradlo are this year’s News editor and assistant editor, respectively, while Jan Edward Ballesteros and Rodolfo Serafin Jerome Lozada—also fourth-year Journalism students —were appointed acting Sports and Features editors, respectively.

Other Journalism seniors in the staff are Lorenzo Luigi Gayya, Maria Arra Perez, and Gervie Kay Estella, who were named section editors for Special Reports, Filipino, and Witness, respectively.

Hotel and Restaurant Management senior Jan Dominic Leones and Psychology junior Nigel Bryant Evangelista were appointed Literary and Science and Technology editors, respectively, while Sherwin Marion Vardeleon, who is taking up his Master of Arts in Cultural Heritage Studies, was named photography editor.

Legal Management junior Marianne Lastra and Advertising Arts junior Angelica Gabrielle Navarro were appointed acting Circle editor and Art director, respectively.

News reporters for the publication year are Yuji Vincent Gonzales, Daphne Magturo, Bernadette Nicolas, Nikka Lavinia Valenzuela, and Cez Mariela Teresa Verzosa, while this year’s Sports writers are Hedrix Ar-ar Caballe, Alexis Cerado, Jose Antonio Nisay, and Carla Patricia Perez.

Completing this year’s lineup of writers are: Kristelle Ann Batchelor and Andre Santiago (Special Reports); Alfredo Mendoza V, Catalina Ricci Madarang, and Juan Carlos Moreno (Features); Jon Christoffer Obice and Sarah Mae Jenna Ramos (Literary); Elora Joselle Cangco and Jonah Mary Mutuc (Filipino); Denise Pauline Purugganan and Gracelyn Simon (Witness); Altir Christian Bonganay and Giuliani Renz Paas (Science and Technology); and John Joseph Basijan, Romina Louise Cunanan, and Christopher Enriquez (Circle).

2011 logo launched

This year’s artists are Advertising Arts students Karel Daye Gascon, Ma. Aurora Gonzales, and Jhorlie Rikka Rabara. The photographers are John Paul Autor, Jaime Campos, and John Daniel Hirro.

Philippine Daily Inquirer (PDI) Arts and Books editor Joselito Zulueta remains the publications adviser. Journalism lecturer and Business World Research Director Felipe Salvosa II is still the assistant publications adviser.

This year’s staff was named following a rigorous selection process that consisted of an examination, a panel interview, and staff development activities last summer.

This year’s selection committee was led by PDI senior reporter Christian Esguerra as chairman. Members included Commerce professor and lawyer Eldric Paul Peredo, UST Journalism program head and Manila Bulletin entertainment editor Nestor Cuartero, Department of English Chairperson Marilu Madrunio, and UST Publishing House Director Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.