28 July 2014, 9:44 p.m. – AFTER losing to overwhelming abstentions in college-wide polls last February, Juan Carlo de la Paz of Aklas-Sakto party won the student council presidency at the College of Education in special elections on Monday.

De la Paz, a Secondary Education student, bested Library Science major John Michael Calderon, after getting 18 votes from the total 28 class presidents who participated in the special elections.

During the previous college-wide polls, De la Paz ran unopposed but failed to win the presidency after 727 out of 1,255 students abstained.

Special Education student Bria Reyes was also elected as the new external vice president.

The position was vacated by Pauline Perez, who won the post in the previous polls but had to transfer to another university due to a scholarship offer.

The newly elected officers will be proclaimed on Wednesday. Roberto A. Vergara, Jr.

Former rector reminds 'V' to 'find reverence in silence' on 87th year


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.