UPDATED June 22, 2015, 5:30 p.m. – TWELVE fellows, including four Thomasians, will attend this
year’s edition of the UST National Writers’ Workshop to be held from July 19 to
25 in Baguio.

Now on its 15th year, the workshop organized by the UST
Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies (CCWLS) will tackle poetry,
fiction, creative nonfiction, and the play.

Mailan Falculan (University of the Philippines-Diliman) and
Ma. Camille Rivera (Miriam College) are fellows for poetry in English, while
John Roemart Atienza (Mariners Polytechnic Colleges Foundation) and Daniw
Plaridel Santiago (UP-Diliman) are fellows for poetry in Filipino. Rina Garcia
Chua (UST), Christian Rey Buendia (UP-Los Baños), and Dominic Paul Sy (UP-Diliman) are fellows for fiction in English,
while Marvin Einstein Mejaro and Rijel Reyes (UST) are fellows for fiction in
Filipino.  Adrian Crisostomo Ho (De La
Salle University) is a fellow for creative nonfiction in English, while Tyron
Judes Casumpang (Ateneo de Manila) is fellow for the play in Filipino. Marianne
Freya Nono (UST)  is fellow for both
fiction in English and the play in Filipino.

The teaching panel, who will critique the fellows’ works, is
composed of Cristina Pantoja-Hidalgo, director of the CCWLS; Ralph Semino Galan, assistant director of the CCWLS; Ina Abuan, workshop corrdinator; resident fellow Chuckberry Pascual; Palanca winners Mar Anthony Dela
Cruz and Vijae Alquisola; essayist and poet Dawn Marie Nicole Marfil; Joselito Zulueta,
Philippine Daily Inquirer Arts and Books editor and Varsitarian publications
adviser; Filipino essayist Joselito delos Reyes; fictionist Augusto Antonio
Aguila; and poets John Jack Wigley and Ned Parfan. Acclaimed poet-critic Gémino
Abad will serve as a special guest panelist.

The National Writers’ Workshop, first organized in 2000, is
open to both Thomasian and non-Thomasian writers. Twelve fellows are chosen
after a screening process.

The CCWLS also organizes the Thomasian Students Summer
Writers’ Workshop, a separate workshop first held in 2014 for the undergraduate
students of UST.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.