UST honors 38 faculty retirees


RETIREMENT is not a deprivation of the privilege to dream.

This was the message of Rector Fr. Herminio Dagohoy, O.P. before 38 retiring faculty members of the University who were honored last May 4 at the Buenaventura G. Paredes, O.P. Building.

“Retirement does not deprive us of the privilege to dream. Those who dream will never ever grow old,” Dagohoy said, adding that educators will continue to surprise people, “because of the wisdom that you possess, your invaluable contribution to the academe and the legacy that you will leave behind as a teacher.”

Alberto Laurito, the longest serving dean of the Faculty of Engineering, served the most years in the University in this year’s roster of retirees, with 43 years. He was followed by Gil Santos of the College of Fine Arts and Design with 42 years of service.

Speaking for the retirees, Laurito said retirement should not hinder productivity.

“Retiring means changing our old tires with new ones. It’s letting go of our past victories and failures. Listen well to our experience to learn and discover new directions so that we could still be productive,” he said.

Laurito wished Thomasian educators luck amid the K to 12 transition and Asean integration.

The retirees for this year are:

College of Education

  • Madeline Dionora
  • Prof. Jose Dakila N. Espiritu (37 years)
  • Assoc. Prof. Rhodelia Mendoza (15.5 years)
  • Asst. Prof. Cristina Sagum (27 years)

Faculty of Engineering

  • Prof. Nancy Eleria (33 years)
  • Assoc. Prof. Marifa Torralba

College of Fine Arts and Design

  • Asst. Prof. Danilo Santiago (15 years)

Junior High School

  • Wilfredo Ornedo (33 years)
  • Nerissa Peñamora
  • Noemi Visorde (22 years)

Faculty of Medicine and Surgery

  • Dr. Buena Fe Apepe (34 years)
  • Dr. Romulo Buzon, Jr. (34 years)
  • Dr. Rosalia Buzon
  • Dr. Antonio Cruz
  • Dr. Manuela de Jesus
  • Dr. Emelita Gan (34 years)
  • Dr. Ramon Javier (36 years)
  • Dr. Mario Milo (34 years)
  • Dr. Narciso Navarro, Jr.
  • Dr. William Olalia (35 years)
  • Dr. Marcelino Ostrea, Jr. (32 years)
  • Dr. Patria Punsalan (36 years)
  • Dr. Bee Giok Sales
  • Dr. Judith Sison
  • Dr. Celina Tady (33 years)
  • Dr. Benito Uy

Miguel de Benavides Library

  • Estrella Majuelo (22.3 years)

College of Nursing

  • Crestita Tan (25 years)

Faculty of Pharmacy

  • Aristea Bayquen (41 years)
  • Ma. Asuncion Crispina Cobar
  • Milagros Salvador (37 years)

Institute of Religion

  • Carmen Alviar (24 years)
  • Digna Sese (41 years)

College of Science

  • Lucila Bance (41 years)
  • Gil Cauyan (25 years)
  • Emerita Simeon

Vice Rector for Academic Affairs Clarita Carillo, Vice Rector Fr. Richard Ang, O.P. and Secretary General Fr. Jesus Miranda, O.P. joined the ceremony.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.