CSC secretary guns for presidency, faces LTC bet in 2019 student polls

(Photo by Hazel Grace S. Posadas/The Varsitarian)

TWO CANDIDATES will compete for the highest position in the Central Student Council (CSC) Executive Board, based on the preliminary list of candidates released after the filing of candidacies on Wednesday, which signaled the start of the election season in the University.

CSC Secretary Robert Dominic Gonzales, a medicine sophomore, will run independently against Institute of Physical Education and Athletics Student Council Secretary Worship Acosta, a sports and wellness management senior, of the Lakas Tomasino Coalition (LTC), for the presidency.

A total of eight candidates filed their certificates of candidacy for this year’s CSC polls, down from last year’s 10.

There will be no vice-presidential bet in this year’s student polls.

Legal management freshman Krizia Milleny Bricio (independent) will face advertising arts senior Nicholas Sia (LTC) and the sole Lakasdiwa bet, chemistry freshman Karch Andrei Rafael, for the position of CSC secretary.

LTC bets Rafael Lipat, a political science junior, and Patricia Claire Cruz, an accountancy freshman, will run unopposed for the positions of treasurer and auditor, respectively.

Physical therapy sophomore Ian Jericho Sun (LTC), will be the sole candidate for the position of public relations officer.

Independent candidates dominated last year’s CSC elections following the suspension of LTC and the failure of Lakasdiwa to field bets.

Lakasdiwa Chairwoman Louise Fernando told the Varsitarian in an earlier interview that they were not able to find anyone competent enough to represent their party in last year’s CSC elections.

The Central Commission on Elections will release the official list of candidates on March 29.

The campaign period will be from March 30 to April 21 and the proclamation of the new CSC Executive Board will be on April 27.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.