LTC standard bearer disqualified to run in 2019 student polls

(Photo by Deejae S. Dumlao/The Varsitarian)

LAKAS Tomasino Coalition (LTC) presidential candidate Worship Acosta, was disqualified to run in the 2019 Central Student Council (CSC) elections, leaving incumbent CSC Secretary Robert Gonzales unopposed.

UST Central Commission on Elections Chairwoman Moriah Mendiola told the Varsitarian that Acosta’s disqualification was because of his failure to complete the required documents for candidacy.

All other candidates who filed their candidacies last March 27 were deemed qualified to run for this year’s elections.

There will be no vice-presidential bet in this year’s student polls.

Legal management freshman Krizia Milleny Bricio (independent) will face advertising arts senior Nicholas Sia (LTC) and the sole Lakasdiwa bet, chemistry freshman Karch Andrei Rafael, for the position of CSC secretary.

LTC bets Rafael Lipat, a political science junior, and Patricia Claire Cruz, an accountancy freshman, will run unopposed for the positions of treasurer and auditor, respectively.

Physical therapy sophomore Ian Jericho Sun (LTC), will be the sole candidate for the position of public relations officer.

‘Same rules apply’

Mendiola said the electronic voting system would be retained for this year’s election, as the system was deemed “successful” last year.

There will still be no option to “Abstain,” in compliance with the order of the Central Judiciary Board in 2017.

The campaign period will start on March 30.

Room-to-room campaigns will end on April 13, while online campaigning will continue until April 21.

The proclamation of the new Central Student Council Executive Board will be on April 27. LTC standard bearer disqualified to run in 2019 student polls.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.