The student center building lobby. File photo by Basilio H. Sepe

The Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) has approved the application of UST and 23 other universities to hold limited face-to-face classes for third and fourth-year students of medicine and health allied programs students effective the second semester of Academic Year 2020-2021. 

CHEd Chairman Prospero De Vera III said UST and the 23 other universities had passed stringent retrofitting and health standards set by the commission and the Department of Health (DOH) for the reopening of face-to-face classes. 

“These HEIs have fully complied with the CHEd-DOH guidelines and have been inspected by CHEd and their LGUs so they can now bring their 3rd and 4th year students for hands-on training and laboratory classes in a limited face-to-face system,” he said in a press release.

According to CHEd, medical and health allied programs were prioritized for limited face-to-face classes “to enable students to achieve key learning outcomes on specialized laboratory courses and hospital-based clinical clerkship/internship/practicum and to provide additional manpower to the country’s health system.” 

The University initially planned to start limited face-to-face classes this March, but was side-tracked by the recent surge in Covid-19 cases in the country and the discovery of multiple coronavirus variants in Metro Manila cities.

Vice Rector for Academic Affairs Prof. Cheryl Peralta earlier told the Varsitarian that the University would release instructions and guidelines on how face-to-face classes would be conducted.

Aside from UST, the applications for limited face-to-face classes of the following universities have also been approved:

  • Mariano Marcos State University – Batac (Region I)
  • St. Louis University (CAR)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – City of San Fernando (Region III)
  • Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health (NCR)
  • UP Manila (NCR)
  • University of East Ramon Magsaysay (NCR)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – Quezon City (NCR)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – Valenzuela City (NCR)
  • Manila Central University (NCR)
  • Adventist University of the Philippines (Region IV)
  • De La Salle Health and Medical Science Institute (Region IV)
  • University of Perpetual Help – Don Jose (Region IV)
  • Our Lady of Fatima University – Sta. Rosa (Region IV)
  • Naga College Foundation (Region V)
  • West Visayas State University (Region VI)
  • Central Philippine University (Region VI)
  • Cebu Institute of Medicine (Region VII)
  • University of Cebu School of Medicine (Region VII)
  • Iloilo Doctors’ College of Medicine (Region VI)
  • University of Iloilo (Region VI)
  • Blancia Foundation College, Inc. (Region IX)
  • Xavier University (Region X)
  • Liceo de Cagayan University (Region X)


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.