THREE professors were given the Gawad Santo Tomas for Outstanding Faculty/Researchers during the Fifth Annual Dangal Awards at the Medicine Auditorium last Feb. 5.

Dr. Minerva Calimag from the Faculty of Medicine and Surgery (Medicine) was recognized for her outstanding performance in Science and Technology, Dr. Emily Tan from the Faculty of Pharmacy in Social Science, and conductor Herminigildo Ranera for Performing Arts.

Likewise, Medicine’s Dr. Placido Calimag and its Pedriatrics Department were given the award for Outstanding Faculty Extension and Community Service.

Perennial award recipients were elevated to the Hall of Fame for having won a Dangal award more than twice. College of Science Dean Fortunato Sevilla and professor Maribel Nonato, and Dr. Reynaldo Javate of Medicine had been given the Gawad Sto. Tomas and Gawad Sto. Domingo before.

The Dangal Awards, which started in 1998, is a joint project of the UST administration and the UST Faculty Union. It recognizes the professors’ achievements in the different aspects of learning as well as their outstanding contributions ro carrying out the goals of the University.

Meanwhile, the Gawad Sto. Domingo Award winners were Science’s Roberto Andres for Best Published Research Work in the field of Science and Technology, Edward Quinto for Best Innovation, and Dr. Rhandy Benito for Best Book.

The outstanding teachers in the same award were Medicine’s Assistant Dean Dr. Patria Punsalan, former UST High School (USTHS) principal Editha Fernandez, Institute of Physical Education and Athletics (IPEA) assistant professor Gilda Kamus, Education instructor George Cuevas, USTHS’s Eden Tolentino, and UST Grade School’s Madeline Dionora.

UST to be under RP Dominicans

Meanwhile, 93 faculty members received the Benavides Award for decades of service to the University. Among the recipients who have been teaching in the University for at least 20 years were Sandiganbayan Associate Justice Diosdado Peralta, Medicine Faculty Secretary Dr. Jose Blas, Architecture Assistant Dean Tobias Bonaobra, and former IPEA faculty secretary Laura Clavo de Comer.

Arts and Letters Dean Dr. Armando de Jesus was awarded for rendering 30 years service. Center for Research and Development director Dr. Gloria Bernas and Medicine dean Dr. Angeles Tan-Alora received the award for teaching in the University for at least 35 years.

In the 40 years service category, Medicine professor Dr. Estrella Villar was the lone recipient. College of Nursing professor Shirley Peña and Medicine professor Dr. Juan Torres received the award for teaching in UST for at least 45 years.

Meanwhile, in the Special Service Award, 33 faculty members were honored. Among the Special Service Award recipients were Architecture Dean Augusto Concio and Artlets professor Jose David Lapuz (30 years); Commerce Dean Amelia Halili and UST Publishing House in-house editor professor Rogelio Obusan (40); and Pharmacy Dean Dr. Rosalinda Solevilla (45 years).

In addition, a Special Achievement Award were given to Solicitor-General Alfredo Benipayo, former deans Lourdes Custodio (Education), Amado Dimayuga (Law), Carmen Kanapi (Science), Norma Lerma (Pharmacy), and Magdalena Villaba (Artlets), and Professor Emeritus Milagros Tanlayco. Other recipients of the award were professors Emmanuel Galang (Artlets) and Bienvenida Abustan (Graduate School). Elka Krystle R. Requinta


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.