RECTOR Fr. Tamerlane Lana, O.P. stressed the teaching profession’s formative dimension for both teachers and students last April 1 during the testimonial dinner for the retiring faculty honorees at the Thomas Aquinas Research Complex.

“Formation takes place not only among the students to whom our teachers impart knowledge and endeavor to inculcate human and Christian values,” Fr. Lana said. “(It) also takes place among teachers as they go through the learning process, (since) no one can give what he does not have.”

Fr. Lana said it was important to acknowledge the contribution of the honorees to the University’s mission of formation.

Meanwhile, University Budget Office director Florita Aguiling of the College of Commerce (Commerce), one of the 31 honorees, reminisced about her 40-year stay in the University as faculty member and an employee at the Treasurer’s Office.

“In 2011, UST will be 400 years old; I am delighted to know that I had been at UST for at least 10 per cent of its existence,” said Aguiling, who will continue to hold office as budget director.

A testimonial dinner is held annually for both academic and non-academic retirees of the University, who have either reached the mandatory retiring age of 65, or opted for early retirement. The honorees received a plaque of appreciation for committed service to the University and a commemorative Guy Laroche watch.

The other honorees were professors Luningning Ferrer (Faculty of Arts and Letters), Antonina Miguel, Ma. Theresa Perianes, Lucila Raquepo (Commerce), Roger Carreon, Purita Barja (College of Education), Carrissa Joyce Santamaria (UST Elementary), Virgilio Velez (College of Fine Arts and Design), Crispino Paldeng, Fe Tabamo (Faculty of Engineering), Norma Collantes (Pay High School), Justice Undersecretary Ernesto Pineda (Faculty of Civil Law), Roberto Anastacio, Corazon Quesada, Antonio Sison, Lina De Dios-Torrralba, Ludgerio Torres (Faculty of Medicine and Surgery), Laarni Aquino, Teresita Cantuba, Irene Gracce Carlos, Victoria Pusung, Josie Udan, Cristina Victoria (College of Nursing), Zennie Aceron, Amelia Luciano, Imelda Salandanan, Romeo Sindico (Faculty of Pharmacy), Remy Guillermo, Belen Perreras (Institute of Religion), and Estela Peredo (College of Science).

University Wi-Fi upgrade postponed


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.