Dec. 12, 2014, 11:33 p.m. – THE UST Central Commission
on Elections (Comelec) has denied the petitions for accreditation of two
university-wide political parties due to failure to meet membership requirements.

Alyansa ng Kristiyanong Lakas (AKLAS) and Lakas Tomasino
Coalition (LTC) failed to accomplish the necessary documents for accreditation
as stated by the UST Students’ Election Code (USEC) of 2011, according to a
resolution released by the Comelec last Monday on its official Facebook page.

Lakas ng Diwang Tomasino (LD) was the sole university-wide
political party to be re-accredited.

UST Comelec had extended the deadline for submission of
requirements to Nov. 13 from Oct. 17 “to meet membership deficiencies.”

To gain recognition, a central political party must submit
the political party’s constitution and by-laws, declaration of political creed,
complete list of officers, members and alumni, and a beginning financial
statement, according to the USEC of 2011.

A minimum of 50 members, with at least two representatives
from at least 15 colleges, faculties, schools or institutes, is also required.

AKLAS Chairperson Nathaniel de Leon said they would respect
the decision of the Comelec and would not file an appeal.

“We will not forge, fabricate, falsify any document or
statement regarding accreditation. ‘Pag nagsinungaling kami sa accreditation,
chances are kaya din naming magsinungaling sa eleksyon,” De Leon said in
an interview.

LTC expressed its dismay over the Comelec’s decision,
claiming it had  submitted all

“We are appalled that the UST Central Comelec did not
re-accredit us for this school year … it has not been our problem for the
longest time,” said LTC Chairperson Elmo Nicolas. “LTC plans to ask
for a detailed written report from the UST Central Comelec on why we were not

Protesters gather at Liwasang Bonifacio to push for K to 12 suspension

LTC said it would file a motion for reconsideration with the

Among the three university-wide political parties, AKLAS is
the oldest, having been established 1986. LD was founded in 1992 while LTC was
formed in 2005. D. T. Cudal



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.