THE FACULTY of Engineering emerged as the Pautakan 2015
champion after besting 13 other teams in the intercollegiate quiz contest last
April 13 at the Medicine Auditorium.

The Engineering team finished with 200 points, defeating
perennial podium finisher Faculty of Arts and Letters (Artlets). Artlets led
early in the competition but fell short and ended up with 165 points, good for
a runner-up finish.

The UST-Alfredo M. Velayo College of Accountancy, which
ended Engineering’s three-year streak last year, earned 150 points, settling
for third place.

From 2011 to 2013, Engineering dominated the group category
of Pautakan, the longest-running intercollegiate quiz contest in the country.

“[Mas] constant ‘yung training namin this year and talagang
malaking tulong ‘yung mga alumni,” Engineering team captain A-Jay Galiza said
in an interview.

Other teams that made it to the finals of the group category
were the College of Education and Faculty of Medicine and Surgery.

Meanwhile, third-year Communication Arts student Arvee Gomez
scored a total of 155 points, beating 13 other contestants, to win the Pautakan
championship in the individual category.

“Hindi pa rin ako makapaniwala kasi last year
nag-participate din ako pero sixth lang ako, hindi man lang ako umabot sa finals.
Tapos this year, champion ako,” Gomez said.

Medicine placed second with 125 points, while last year’s
champion Engineering placed third with 120 points.

The panel of Pautakan resource persons was composed of
Jerome Ong (History) and Oliva Koh (Physical Science) of the University of the
Philippines (UP)-Manila, Selwyn Clyde Alojipan (Natural Science) and J. Neil
Garcia (Humanities) of UP-Diliman, Jose Victor Torres (UST History) and Anita
Ong (Mathematics) of De La Salle University, and Jose Ramon Lorenzo (General
Information and Current Events) of Quezon City Science High School.

Eng’g programs promoted to Level III status

MYX VJ Robi Domingo and former UST courtside reporter and
Claude Despabiladeras hosted this year’s Pautakan.

Pautakan, organized yearly by the Varsitarian, is now on its
38th year. Arianne F. Merez


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.