2 September, 2015, 12:17 pm — THREE Thomasians, including a former Varsitarian staffer,
were among the 57 writers honored at the 65th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards
for Literature on Sept. 1 at the Manila Peninsula Hotel.

John Carlo Pacala, an Arts and Letters alumnus, won first prize in the Maikling
 category for his piece “Ang Reyna ng Espada at mga Pusa,”
while formerVarsitarian managing editor Brylle Tabora took home the
second prize in the Dulang Pampelikula category for his piece

Sophomore Literature student Lance Santiago meanwhile bagged second prize in the Kabataan Sanaysay category
for his essay titled “Ang Nakakakiliting Kalabit ng Bukang Liwayway.”

Pacala, said writers should consider their readers’ tastes. “Dapat ‘yung
sinusulat ng mga writers ay pasok sa interes ng mga magbabasa kasi  kung
hindi sila interesado basahin ang sinulat mo kahit gaano pa kaganda ‘yan,
walang babasa niyan.” 

Tabora, a Biology graduate, encouraged young writers to read local
literature. “Palanca is for everyone. My advise is for young writers to read
local literature because that is the key for them to succeed,” he said.

For Santiago, the Palanca Awards is a great motivator for young writers.
“Ang laki ng contribution ng Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards sa mga writers kasi
sobrang importanteng mabigyan ng recognition ‘yung mga writers.”

Importance of language and arts

Gemino Abad, this year’s guest of honor and speaker, said language was
the key to the survival of culture and civilization.

“Without language, the timeless invention of the human imagination,
there is no memory, no history, culture, no civilization,” Abad said.

The professor emeritus of literature at the University of the
Philippines Diliman also said “the writer must find his own path through the
wilderness of a given historical landmine.”

Also during the awarding ceromonies, National Artist for Literature F.
Sionil Jose said the arts are “the foundation of every nation.”

The Palanca Awards has honored 2,200 authors and has recognized a total
of 2,278 works since 1951. 

It is named in honor of businessman
and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr. It aims to develop Philippine
literature by giving recognition to writers who have exemplified literary
excellence. D. A. P. Baybado and C. A. P. Sta. Cruz


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.