September 19, 2015, 9:40p.m. – CONSERVATORY of Music
dean Raul Sunico gave a defeaning performance of “The Powerful Prokofiev” as
part of The Metro Manila Concert Orchestra’s (MMCO) MMCO: The Sound of
Excellence 15th Crystal Anniversary Concert Season last night at the Meralco
Theater in Pasig.

Sunico, accompanied by the MMCO and conductor Josefino Chino
Toledo, played the piano to perform Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev’s piano
concerto no. 3.

Under the tutelage of Toledo, the MMCO began with an
overture of “Carnaval, Op. 45” by Russian composer Alexander Glazunov.

It was followed with Franz Shubert’s” Symphony No. 8 in B
Minor” or “Unfinished Symphony,” featuring two fully orchestrated
movements with “Allegro Moderato in B Minor” and “Andante Con Moto in E Major.”

A sonic and thematic shift occurred with National Artist
Lucrecia Kasilag’s “Philippine Scenes,” which featured a mix of classical
and Asian traditional music.

Accompanied by the timpani and flute, Kasilag’s piece
recreated impressions of local sounds and rhythms.

The concert’s second half consisted of Sunico’s solo
performance of Prokofiev’s piano concerto that was divided into three

“Andate – Allegro,” the first movement played in C
Major, started with a clarinet solo and expanded by the orchestra.

It was followed by five variations including the haunting
“Tema Con Varizoni,” with the middle movement in E Minor.

Sunico ended with the third movement, “Allegro, Ma Non
Troppo,” in C Major that exuded a conflicting theme between the orchestra and
the soloist.

The concert’s finale featured the orchestra playing French
composer Emmanuel Chabrier’s “Joyeuse Marche.”

Other artists that performed for the MMCO’s 15th anniversary
concert series included pianists Aima Makk, Jose Panganiban III, Albert Tiu,
Cristine Coyiuto and Abelardo Galang II; soprano Gerphil Flores; and flute
soloist Caitlin Coyiuto. Ethan James M. Siat


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.