THE UST Eco Tigers finished fifth overall in both the urban and prototype categories at the conclusion of the 2016 Shell Eco Marathon-Asia last March 4 at the Quirino Grandstand.

The UST Eco Tigers’ “T400D” and “T400E,” the prototype and urban concept entries of the team, recorded fuel consumption of 69 kilometers per liter (km/L) and 54 km/L respectively.

UST was the only university from the Philippines that made the cut for the alternative fuel urban concept category. The Eco Tigers weren’t given the chance to parade their entry for the urban concept category last year after failing to pass technical inspection.

“‘Yung last year kasi parang nagkaroon ng maraming problema, maraming issues concerned (braking system, fuel system and ‘yung sa mga electrical systems), ngayon, [naayos na] namin ‘yung mga issue na ‘yun,” Eco Tigers adviser Raymundo Melegrito told the Varsitarian.

Vietnam’s Lac Hong University recorded the longest distance for the alternative fuel urban concept category at 186 km/L. Indonesia’s Institut Teknologi Bandung and University of Sumatera Utara ranked second and third, while Monash University placed fourth.

Meanwhile, the diesel prototype entry of the Eco Tigers placed third among Philippine schools and fifth overall in the category. University of San Carlos ranked third with a record of 106 km/L, followed by the Polytechnic University of the Philippines at fourth, after setting a 72 km/L record.

The longest distance for the diesel prototype category was 1,424 km/L, set by the Hyogo Prefectural Tajima Technical Institute from Japan. This was followed by Tongji University of China, which was 798 km/L.

For the prototype entry, UST opted for diesel instead of gasoline.

“We pushed through the competition kasi we made it this far. Next year we will continue that design and baka magfocus na lang kami sa isang vehicle para mas madali imanage,” Meg Celine Cruz, mechanical engineering student and driver of the prototype engine, said.

The UST Eco Tigers, who first joined the competition in 2010 in Malaysia, is composed of mechanical engineering students Joven Talape, Raymond Cornes, Royce Leong, Kevin Uri Diaz, Allen Yap, Adrian Alemania, Dannie Baluyot, John Paulo Diongco, Jerome Richard Inson, Mia Jane Reyes, Jason Faustino, Karl Enano, Haziel Sigua, Eli de Arroz, Meg Celine Cruz, Jose Francisco Ignacio and Lance Pio Roda, along with electrical engineering students Jason Faustino and Karl Enano.

A total of 118 teams from 16 countries participated in this year’s event.

This will be the last year Manila will be the host city of the Shell Eco Marathon. It will be held in Singapore next year.

Shell Eco-Marathon is sponsored by Dutch oil company Shell, challenging student teams from around the world “to design, build and drive the most energy-efficient car” by consuming the least amount of fuel. Kathryn Jedi V. Baylon, Clarence I. Hormachuelos and Roy AbrahmN D.R. Narra


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.