April 27, 2017, 10:50p.m. – THE PROCLAMATION of the new set of Central Student Council (CSC) officers finally pushed through Wednesday, with Lakas Tomasino Coalition (LTC) dominating this year’s elections after winning five out of six posts, including the presidency.

LTC standard-bearer Janela Love Nartates, a sports wellness management junior, won the presidency over entrepreneurship sophomore Patricia Mae Yi of Lakas ng Diwang Tomasino (Lakasdiwa) and marketing sophomore Roi Sergio Rey, an independent.

Nartates garnered 11,412 votes (37.24 percent), while Yi got 8,454 (27.59 percent) and Rey, 5,184 (16.92 percent). A total of 5,578 students (18.20 percent) opted to abstain.

“[M]akakaasa po [ang Thomasians] na hindi namin sisirain ang tiwala na ibinigay [nila] sa amin and we will work hard to prove na hindi masasayang ang boto at pagtitiwala [nila] sa amin,” Nartates said in a text message to the Varsitarian.

LTC vice-presidential bet Steven Grecia, a medical technology sophomore, got 14,910 votes (48.65 percent), defeating financial management sophomore Jose Ramon Liñan of Lakasdiwa who obtained 8,894 votes (29.02 percent). A total of 6,662 voters (27.74 percent) abstained.

Meanwhile, physical therapy freshman Nina Jessica Pasno of LTC was elected secretary. She won 10,051 votes (32.80 percent), defeating industrial design junior Nina Bianca Ramirez of Lakasdiwa and behavioral science junior Samantha Anne Williams (independent).

Ramirez garnered 7,098 votes (23.16 percent) while Williams got 9,000 votes (29.37 percent). A total of 4,302 voters (14.04 percent) abstained.

Independent candidate Ma. Glyden Aquilar was elected treasurer. Aquilar, a nursing junior, won with 9,954 votes (32.48 percent), defeating architecture junior John Rick Marwell Bartolome of Lakasdiwa and Rjay Yu of LTC.

Bartolome secured 6,643 votes (21.68 percent) while Yu obtained 8,305 (22.10 percent). A total of 5,529 voters (18.04 percent) opted to abstain.

For the position of auditor, human resource management junior Romulo Terrado III of LTC won with 9,372 votes (30.58 percent), beating accountancy sophomore Amiel Justine Ollica of Lakasdiwa who garnered 6,741 votes (22 percent) and biology junior Neil Joseph Lee who got 8,958 votes (29.23 percent). A total of 5,367 voters (17.51 percent) abstained.

Behavioral science student Jherome Ramos won the post of public relations officer with 8,935 votes (29.16 percent), defeating journalism junior Enna May Hermoso of Lakasdiwa who got 7,709 votes (25.16 percent), and independent candidate Patrick Joseph Magyani, an information technology sophomore, who got 8,270 votes (27 percent). A total of 5,511 students (17.98 percent) chose to abstain.

This year, 30,645 Thomasians voted in the CSC elections, an increase from last year’s turnout of 28,161. Paul Xavier Jaehwa C. Bernardo and Alhex Adrea M. Peralta


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.