Science professor leads 18th Dangal ng UST honorees

Rector Fr. Herminio Dagohoy during the 18th Dangal ng UST awards. Photo by Deejae S. Dumlao

A FACULTY MEMBER from the College of Science was inducted to the “Hall of Fame” as top Thomasian professors were awarded last May 11 at the 18th Dangal ng UST awards held in the Medicine Auditorium.

Science professor Allan Patrick Macabeo received the Hall of Fame Award after receiving eight recognitions in past Dangal ng UST Awards.

In his speech, Rector Rev. Fr. Herminio Dagohoy O.P said that an educator’s honor is not solely measured by quality of work, but also by the way the teaching mandate was upheld.

“Ang saligan ng dignidad ng pagiging guro ay naaayon sa antas ng kaniyang pagtupad sa atas na iginawad sa kaniya,” Dagohoy said.

Keynote speaker Gerardo Janairo, UST alumnus and chancellor at De La Salle University, recalled his student life in UST.

“Sa aking palagay, ang pagbabago sa aking ugali, pamantayan sa trabaho, ambisyon, at pagmamahal ko sa aking bokasyon at estudyante ay bunsod ng aking mga karanasan sa mga guro ko dito sa pamantasan ng Santo Tomas,” Janairo said

“Sila ang aking naging gabay at inspirasyon,” he added. “Dapat ay walang bata ang maaaksaya sa pagkakaligaw ng landas, at ito ay nasa ating mga kamay.”

Among those who were awarded the Gawad Benavides (Loyalty Award) for 35 years of service were Vice Rector for Research and Innovation Maribel Nonato and Senior High School Principal Pilar Romero.

Alfredo Co, who was named professor emeritus by the University last March, and Gloria Coronel from the Conservatory of Music, received the Benavides award for 45 and 50 years of service, respectively.

READ: Venerable master: With humanities under attack, continue pursuit of true knowledge

The Gawad San Alberto Magno, for outstanding research and innovation in the field of science and technology, were given to seven awardees including Rey Donnie Papa, Mary Beth Maningas, and Oliver Villaflores from Science; Raymond Rosales from Medicine and Surgery; and Chuckberry Pascual, Alfredo Co, and Joselito de los Reyes from the Faculty of Arts and Letters.

The Faculty of Medicine and Surgery’s Rheumatology Department received the Gawad Santo Domingo award for charity and community service for their “People Empowerment for Arthritis and Lupus” project.

De los Reyes, Maningas, Professor Emeritus Fortunato Sevilla III and the Life Support Training Center of Medicine and Surgery won the Gawad San Lorenzo Ruiz for national and international recognition.

The annual awards, organized by the UST Faculty Union and the UST administration since 1998, recognize faculty members, guidance conselors, and librarians who have made outstanding contributions to the University in the fields of teaching, research, and service.

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article was first published with the information stating that College of Science faculty member Allan Patrick Macabeo had three Dangal awards prior to receiving the Hall of Fame Award. Macabeo received eight awards prior to the Hall of Fame Award. We have made changes in this page to correct our error.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.