Outstanding Thomasian doctors honored

The Faculty of Medicine and Surgery honors its exceptional graduates in line with the faculty’s celebration of its 150th year. (Photo by Michael Angelo M. Reyes/The Varsitarian)

UST PAID tribute to 147 exceptional graduates of the Faculty of Medicine and Surgery on Sept. 28 in line with the faculty’s celebration of its 150th year.

Dr. Ma. Lourdes Maglinao, Medicine dean, said Thomasian history rebuilds itself in every Thomasian doctor as they bring glory to the University’s legacy in medical practice.

“You are your alma mater’s contribution to the present-day history. You are itself, history, unfolding,” Maglinao said.

Doctors in research, medical society, education, public and private health, and government service were given recognition.

Dr. Consuelo Suarez, chief program officer of the UST Research Center for Health Sciences; Dr. Raymond Rosales, chief editor of UST Journal of Medicine and Dr. Sandra Teresa Navarra, a member of the editorial board of Lupus Science and Medicine, were honored for their significant contributions in the field of research.

Among the 27 recipients of the recognition in the medical society category were Dr. Ida Marie Lim and Dr. Roy Cuison, heads of the faculty’s department of clinical epidemiology and integrative medicine unit, respectively. 

Chairmen of different departments of Medicine dominated the 31 awardees for excellence in the field of education.

Recognition for their contribution in the private health sector was bestowed upon 52 Thomasian doctors.

Doctors Edwin Rodriguez, Eliseo Banaynal, Jr., Godfrey Robeniol, Emmanuel Surposa and Noel Rosas were honored for their outstanding in medical practice. 

In the public health sector, 21 Thomasian physicians were recognized, including Dr. Robert So, director of clinical services of the Ospital ng Makati; Dr. Ray Sarmiento, department chairman of surgery of the Rizal Medical Center; and Dr. Leilani Chavez-Coloma, chairwoman of the department of obstetrics and gynecology of Jose R. Reyes Memorial Medical Center. 

Former senator Dr. Luisa Ejercito was also recognized, along with seven other Thomasian doctors for their exemplary government service.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.