Asst. Prof. Benedict "Ned" Parfan is the new director of the UST Publishing House. (Photo grabbed from the UST Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies Facebook page)

THE UST Publishing House will now be led by its former deputy director, following the appointment of 14 new academic and administrative officials on Aug. 1.

Asst. Prof. Benedict Parfan of the Department of Literature will replace Asst. Prof. Ailil Alvarez, who had held the position since 2017. 

Parfan, an alumnus of the journalism program, is also a researcher at the University’s Research Center for Culture, Arts, and Humanities.

The Office of the Secretary General also announced five new department chairpersons who will begin their term in Academic Year 2023-2024:

  • Asst. Prof. Allen Arboleda – Department of Literature and Humanities
  • Prof. Clarence Batan – Department of Sociology
  • Asst. Prof. Louie Ignacio – Department of Political Science
  • Royce Lim – Department of Modern Languages
  • Reuel Bennett – Department of Biological Sciences

Asst. Prof. John Manuel Kliatchko of the Behavioral Science program is the new Faculty of Arts and Letters secretary, succeeding Asst. Prof. Zenia Rodriguez, while Asst. Prof. Warren Maneja was named faculty secretary of the Ecclesiastical Faculties.

Prof. Florence Navidad, who received her appointment on Jan. 20, is the chair of the new Institutional Research Ethics Board.

The Research Center for Social Sciences and Education will have Asst. Prof. Pia Tenedero as assistant director. Tenedero was the center’s lead person for language studies. 

Newly appointed administrative officials also include Maria Santiago-Antonio, director of the Center for Campus Ministry, and Asst. Prof. Vince Alferos, administrator of the Laboratory Equipment and Supplies Office. 

Celso Ablan was named assistant manager of the University’s technology business incubator, TOMASInno Center. Ernest Martin G. Tuazon


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.