Young blood Isko Moreno unseats Estrada as Manila mayor

(Photo by Mark Darius M. Sulit/The Varsitarian)

May 15, 2019, 12:10 a.m. — FORMER vice mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso has been elected mayor of Manila, defeating incumbent and two-time mayor Joseph “Erap” Estrada in the 2019 elections on Monday, official and final results from the Commission on Elections showed.

Moreno, who served for three consecutive terms as Manila vice mayor, led the mayoralty race with a wide margin, at 357,925 votes versus Estrada’s 210,605.

The 44-year-old was proclaimed as the Philippine capital’s next leader on Tuesday night, shortly after Estrada conceded his defeat.

After Estrada, a convicted plunderer and former Philippine president, former Manila mayor Alfredo Lim came third with 138,923 votes.

Moreno was a three-term councilor in Manila’s first district. Like Estrada, he was an actor. He started as a matinee idol in the 1980s. He became Manila’s vice mayor from 2007 to 2016.

In 2016, Moreno ran for a Senate seat but lost, placing 15th overall.

Honey Lacuna, Moreno’s running mate, led the vice mayoralty race with 394,766 votes. Former Manila fifth district representative Amado Bagatsing landed second with 267,286 votes.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.