March 26, 2015, 6:59 p.m. – EXEMPLARY Thomasian
professors were recognized in the 16th Dangal ng UST Awards held at the
Medicine Auditorium on Thursday, with the Hall of Fame award bestowed upon a
Nursing professor.

“Ang tunay na hamon sa kanyang kakayahan [bilang guro] ay
ang impluwensyang humubog ng isang magandang kinabukasan para sa bayan. Ang
pagtuturo ay isang karangalan at gawain tungo sa kabanalan,” said Vice Rector
Fr. Richard Ang, O.P. in his opening remarks.

“Ito ay isang marangal na bokasyon na walang katapat na
materyal na bagay. Hindi makakaila ang napakahalagang papel nating mga guro sa
pag-gabay at pagbibigay inspirasyon sa ating mga estudyante.”

College of Nursing professor Rouena Villarama was given the
Hall of Fame Award after receiving three previous recognitions in past Dangal
ng UST Awards.

This year’s recipients of the Gawad Benavides (Loyalty
Award) were College of Science professor Fortunato Sevilla III and Faculty of
Medicine and Surgery professor Remedios Coronel, who both have served the
University for 45 years.

Vice Rector for Academic Affairs Clarita Carillo and Faculty
of Engineering professors Jerome Amon and Alberto Laurito also received the
award for 40 years of service.

The Gawad Santo Domingo for charity and community service
was awarded to Thomas Edison Dela Cruz and Maria Victor Pangilinan of the
Research Center for Natural and Applied Sciences Fungal Biodiversity and
Systematics Group.

The Gawad San Alberto Magno, an award for outstanding
research and innovation in the field of science and technology, was given to
College of Science professors Mario Tan and Mary Beth Maningas for their significant contribution to
science and technology, and Faculty of Arts and Letters (Artlets) professor Jove
Jim Aguas for his contribution to the fields of Mathematics and Cultural

Lakasdiwa vies for CSC posts, independent candidates put on hold

Science professors Alicia Aguinaldo, Allan Patrick Macabeo,
and Erickson Paragas Jr. also received the award for their research,
“Antitubercular constituents from Premna Odorata Blanco,” which was recognized
as Best Published Research.

The San Lorenzo Ruiz Award for national and international
recognition was given to Clarence Batan and Eros Atalia (Artlets), Zenaida
Velasco (College of Education), and Christina Binag (Science).

The annual awards, jointly organized by the UST Faculty
Union and the UST administration since 1998, recognize faculty members,
guidance counselors, and librarians who have made outstanding contributions to
the University in the fields of teaching, research, and service. D.
T. Cudal and B. K. A. Taray



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.