THE UST Tiger Radio, the official online radio broadcasting arm of the University, earned six awards in the first-ever International Student Broadcasting Championship (ISBC) on Dec. 1. 

Tiger Radio, which is under the Tiger Media Network (TMN) of the UST Communications Bureau, was named Station of the Year in the competition, with four of its members reaping individual awards. 

Communication students George Medallon, Adrian Molina and Jerome Racela won the Best Talk Presenter, Best Content Creator and Best Social Media Execution awards, respectively. 

Civil engineering sophomore Abdel Alpad bagged the Best Sports Presenter and Best Content/Programme Director prizes. 

According to Asst. Prof. Faye Abugan, adviser of the TMN, these awards were a “testament [to the] quality of education and training that student volunteers receive.”

“Our win as Station of the Year solidifies UST Tiger Radio’s position as a leading platform,” Abugan told the Varsitarian. 

Tiger Radio was also nominated for the People’s Choice Station title. The Wolf Sports Network of the University of West Georgia won the prize. 

Thomasians were also named finalists in other categories of the ISBC:

  • Gabriel Bagahansol (Audio Production – Imaging)
  • Alyana Felonia (Best Specialty Show for ‘Tiger Talk Over’ with Alyana Felonia)
  • Abdel Alpad (Best Interview)
  • Louise Elaine Legaspi (Best On-Air Talent and People’s Choice Talent)
  • Adrian Molina (People’s Choice Content Creator) 

Abugan attributed the station’s win to its “[commitment] to practical learning and mentorship.” 

“We embrace learning by doing [and] experiential learning. We always tell them that you have to volunteer, you have to work in events, you have to work in production,” Abugan said. 

“Hopefully, we can get to work with professional radio stations in the future,” she added. “It can open up new opportunities, collaboration, partnerships [and] heightened visibility.”

Competing alongside Tiger Radio in the ISBC were university-based stations from around the world, including the University of Iowa, the University of Manchester, the University of Pretoria Tuks, The State University of New York, and the University of Cape Town. 

The finalists were also judged by an international panel of media practitioners.

ISBC was launched in October 2023 by Australian media company Ramp Media. It awards talents in radio broadcasting, video and digital content creation, and e-sports broadcasting.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.