Tiger Media Network volunteers, together with their adviser Asst. Prof. Faye Abugan (rightmost), receive their awards during the 84th Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) College Media Conference on Saturday, March 2, in New York City.

THE Tiger Media Network (TMN), the University’s official broadcasting arm, reaped five awards at the 84th Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) College Media Conference on Saturday, March 2, in New York City. 

Tiger Radio, one of the two divisions of TMN, was the Best Streaming/Online Only Radio Station.

It went against various university-based stations in the United States, including those of Chapman University, Simmons University, Rider University, and Landmark College.

Reaping individual awards were communication seniors Paolo Alejandrino and Angela Lamsen, who won the Best Promotions Director and Best Social Media Director awards, respectively.

Marketing senior Cherie Mendoza was named Best Business Director for Television in the 84th IBS. 

The network’s social media production for the 2023 Thomasian Kickoff Party, “Grand Yellow Day: Wear Your Best Yellow Campaign,” bagged the Best Social Media Campaign Award.

TMN adviser Asst. Prof. Faye Abugan told the Varsitarian that the awards showed the caliber of training and mentorship that volunteers went through in the network. 

“We put a premium on our people. We put a premium on training our people so that they can serve not just TMN but the entire Thomasian community,” Abugan said.

“Hopefully, they (winners) can strive to maintain this level of excellence that we are trying to inculcate with our volunteers,” she added.

The TMN also fielded nominees in other categories:

  • Best Online Only Radio Station – UST Tiger Radio
  • Best College/University Television Station – UST Tiger TV
  • Best On-Air Personality – Louise Elaine Legaspi, UST Tiger Radio
  • Best Use of Graphics – Tiger Score of One Air Productions 
  • Best Student Station Manager – Gabriel Alvarez, UST Tiger TV
  • Best Sports Director – Kim Adrienne Salenga
  • Best Creative Services Director – Andrea Nicole Garcia
  • Best Business Director, Radio – Sophia Ann Lacson

Last year, TMN bagged six awards in the IBS. 

The IBS Media Awards is part of the annual multimedia conference organized by IBS, the oldest collegiate broadcasting association in the US.

The conference was held in person from March 1 to 2 at the Sheraton New York Times Square. 


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.