FORMER UST Rector Fr. Tamerlane Lana, O.P. was named among this year’s 10 Outstanding Manilans for his exemplary spiritual leadership last June 23 at the Manila Hotel. The city of Manila awards the title “Outstanding Manilan” to Manila residents who have made significant contributions within and outside the city.

Lana was cited for his leadership of UST and his attempts to make UST a center for contextualized theology in Asia.

“It’s not an honor for me really, but for UST,” Lana, who ended his rectorship last April, told the Varsitarian. “It is because of UST and with what I have done with it that I was given the award.”

Other Outstanding Manilans for 2006 were: Fidel Ramos for public service and global diplomacy, Aureo Alonzo for fashion and design, Federico Hizon for international journalism, Dominique Lemay for humanitarian service, Carlos Loyzaga for sports, Gregorio Oca for business and socio-civic responsibility, Preciosa Soliven for education, Wilson Tieng for film and entertainment, and Fernando Zialcita for anthropology and cultural heritage.

Two other Thomasians received special citations from the Manila government last June 22 at the Bulwagang Villegas of the Manila City Hall.

Conservatory of Music professor Herminigildo Ranera received the Patnubay ng Sining at Kalinangan sa Musika for his achievements as a conductor, composer, arranger, performer and teacher. Ranera is the conductor of the UST Symphony Orchestra and Symphony Band. He also worked as conductor for the Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra, the Manila Philharmonic Orchestra, and the San Miguel Philharmonic Orchestra. The Patnubay award is given to outstanding Filipino artists.

Lilia Pedrialva

College of Architecture alumnus Francisco Mañosa also received the Diwa ng Lahi award for designing the EDSA Shrine in Mandaluyong City and the Coconut Palace in Roxas Boulevard. The award is given only to previous recipients of the Patnubay award and who continue to help in the development of arts and culture. Mañosa previously won the Patnubay ng Kalinangan sa Arkitektura Award in 1982.

The two Thomasians were given the Medalyon ng Karangalan Parangal, a sun-shaped medal designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva. Ivan Angelo T. De Lara


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.