A LEGAL Management student will head the Varsitarian’s 83rd batch, but journalism majors continue to dominate the editorial staff.

Former Special Reports editor and Legal Management senior Alexis Ailex Villamor, Jr. was chosen as this year’s editor in chief.

Joining Villamor in the editorial board are managing editor John Ernest Jose, a fifth-year Architecture student and former Circle writer, and associate editor Rommel Marvin Rio, a senior Journalism major and former News reporter.

Journalism seniors Camille Anne Arcilla, Patricia Isabela Evangelista and Jennifer Orillaza were named section editors for News, Filipino, and Features, respectively, while Anne Marie Carmela Dayauon, Azer Parrocha, Alyosha Robillos and Antonio Ramon Royandoyan—also fourth-year journalism students—were appointed acting editors for Sports, Literary, Circle, and Science and Technology sections, respectively.

Nursing senior Charmaine Parado was named Special Reports editor, while Biology junior Brylle Tabora was appointed Witness editor.

Advertising Arts seniors Jilson Seckler Tiu, Isabela Martinez, and Carla Gamalinda, will assume the positions of Photography editor, Assistant Photography editor, and Art director, respectively.

News reporters for the publication year include Rafael Antonio, Diana Jean Evite, Reden Madrid, Daphne Magturo, and Bernadette Nicolas, while this year’s Sports writers are Jan Edward Ballesteros, Alexis Cerado, Rodolfo Serafin Jerome Lozada and Chenny Ramos.

Completing this year’s lineup are Nigel Bryant Evangelista, Marnee Gamboa, and Lorenzo Luigi Gayya (Special Reports); Erika Denise Dizon, Maria Luisa Mamaradlo, and Margaret Maranan (Features); Ana May de la Cruz and Jan Dominic Leones (Literary); Jonah Mary Mutuc and Maria Arra Perez (Filipino); James Bryan Agustin and Gervie Kay Estella (Witness); Jan Eva Mari de Vera and Fidel Flores (Science and Technology); and Alexandra Dimatera and Marianne Lastra (Circle).

Union hits new faculty pay policy

This year’s artists include John Daniel Hirro—who is concurrently assigned to the Photography section—Angelica Gabrielle Navarro and Karla Mides Toledo. Completing the list of photographers are Josa Camille Bassig, Jaime Campos, and Sherwin Marion Vardeleon.

Journalism professor and Philippine Daily Inquirer (PDI) Arts and Books editor Joselito Zulueta remains in his post as publications adviser of the Varsitarian.

Journalism professor and Business World associate editor Felipe Salvosa II is still the assistant publications adviser.

The new staff went through a series of competitive examinations, panel interviews, seminars, and developmental activities last summer.

This year’s selection committee was led by PDI senior reporter Christian Esguerra, also a UST Journalism professor as chairman. Members include UST Journalism program head and Manila Bulletin lifestyle editor Nestor Cuartero, College of Education Dean Clotilde Arcangel, Faculty of Arts and Letters Dean Michael Anthony Vasco, and former Varsitarian editor in chief and College of Rehabilitation Sciences professor Dr. Don Robespierre Reyes.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.