Med-tech student gets GWA of 1.059, is named valedictorian of Batch 2017

Medical technology student Neill Steven Cachuela is the valedictorian for the Batch 2017, with a general weighted average of 1.059. Photo by Theodore Jason Patrick K. Ortiz

THE VALEDICTORAN of Batch 2017 is a medical technology graduate, who will receive the highest Latin honors from the University for his general weighted average of 1.059.

Neill Steven Cachuela was among the recipients of the Rector’s Academic Award, UST’s highest academic excellence award, during the Students’ Awards Day on May 12 at the Quadricentennial Pavilion.

“Sobrang fulfilling, [at saka] sobrang happy [ko] na all efforts have paid off, pero di ko magagawa ito all by myself,” Cachuela told the Varsitarian.

Other recipients of the Rector’s Academic Award were Seminarian Michael Angelo Alejaga (Faculty of Philosophy), Seminarian Cloyd Anthony Elnar, MLCC (Faculty of Sacred Theology), Cristina Erika Elazegui (Faculty of Medicine and Surgery), Kristine Quiambao (Faculty of Arts and Letters), Christian Gonzales (Faculty of Engineering), Christian Marl Tiguro (College of Education), Anne Rachel See (College of Science), Rochelle Mae Ong (College of Architecture), Alexandra Jane Ong (College of Commerce and Business Administration), Su Jee Jang (Conservatory of Music), Angelika Ann Louise Ignacio (College of Nursing), Adrian Cranston Ong (College of Rehabilitation Sciences), Ana Bernadine Carillo (College of Fine Arts and Design), Marc Leuvill Villaverde (UST-Alfredo M. Velayo College of Accountancy), Justyne Emerie Go (College of Tourism and Hospitality Management) and Kristine Aquino (Institute of Information and Computing Sciences).

Becarios de Santo Tomas, the Thomasian scholars’ association, was given the Pope Leo XIII Community Development Award for its “Butil Scholarship” program, which started in 2011.

Becarios also received the Tradition of Excellence Award after receiving the Pope Leo XIII Community Development Award for five consecutive years.

The Pope Leo XIII Community Development Award was also given to Dean Alan Recaña and Raymond John Naguit (Office of Student Affairs), Aldwin Francis Layug (Pharmacy), Roger Deinn de Vega (Nursing), Lloyd Julius Gondranios (Education), Emmanuel Martin Lauz (Artlets) and 20 other student groups.

Thirty-two students, mostly officers from the central and local student councils, were awarded the Quezon Leadership Award.

Twenty-three organizations were given the St. Dominic de Guzman Award for outstanding organization of events and activities in the University, while seven students and eight groups were awarded the St. Albertus Magnus Award for research.

Forty-one students and 29 groups and organizations were given the Benavides Outstanding Achievement Award for their performance in regional, national and international competitions and conferences.


  1. 2012 you should be prepared with lots of New Year
    resolutions. Micro drive mp3 players have rather more space for storing than flash memory gamers, varying from 5 GB to 10 GB.
    When bad times arrive at our doorstep and our modern electrical utility systems are no
    longer available and functioning we simply can not rely
    upon the moon or flashlights to illuminate our yards.

  2. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is an extremely well
    written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more
    of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I will
    definitely return.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.