A STUDENT from the Faculty of Arts and Letters (Artlets) led this year’s batch of Rector’s Academic Award recipients after attaining the highest general weighted average (GWA) this academic year.

Communication Arts student Jo Anne Angeles, one of three summa cum laude candidates, obtained a GWA of 1.17, making her the valedictorian of UST batch 2006.

The last time Artlets had a summa cum laude from its ranks was in 1978, when Ranhilio Aquino and Angela Abao graduated with A.B. Philosophy and A.B. Literature degrees. Aquino has since become a priest-scholar-lawyer and is now dean of graduate studies at the San Beda College of Law. Abao is

Summa cum laude candidates Smith Lim of the AMV-College of Accountancy and seminarian Jessie Yap of the Faculty of Sacred Theology (Theology) also received the Rector’s Academic Award with GWAs of 1.179 and 1.20.

Meanwhile, for the first time in the award’s history, two students from the same college received the Rector’s Academic Award. College of Education’s Vincent Caparas and Christina Joy Malong both obtained an average of 1.348.

Other Rector’s Academic Awards recipients were Franco Aristotle Larcina (Faculty of Civil Law), Anna Cecilia Tiangco (Faculty of Medicine and Surgery), Rose Anne Syjuco (Faculty of Pharmacy), Archie Bryan Co (Faculty of Engineering), Reuben Nuval (College of Science), Steven Fredrick Tiong (College of Architecture), Paolo Nocum (College of Commerce), Winnie Ting (Conservatory of Music), Ruff Joseph Cajanding (College of Nursing), Caroline Bernadette King Kay (College of Rehabilitation Sciences), Kate Jennifer Lozano (College of Fine Arts and Design), Mabeth Añonuevo (UST High School), Yanna Diorella Umali (Education High School), and Louise Joy Bola (UST Elementary School).

Kasaysayan ng pangunahing aklatan ng UST

Students and student organizations were also honored with the Quezon Leadership Award, the Benavides Achievement Award, Pope Leo XIII Community Development Award, and the St. Dominic de Guzman Award.

The Quezon Award recipients were Sem. Emmanuel Contreras (Theology), Samantha Camitan (Civil Law), Brian Christopher Nocon (Medicine), Hansel James Bulaclac (Pharmacy), Louie Benedict Ignacio (Artlets), Mildred Ebuengan (Engineering), Gerardo Carrera (College of Education), Alan Martin Guerrero (Science), Charisse Jermaine Ong (Architecture), Kim Louie Favis (Commerce), Christopher Cueto (Graduate School), Mark Carlyle Jalijali (Rehabilitation Sciences), and Juan Talamayan (EHS).

The Quezon Award is given to outstanding student leaders.

Meanwhile, Theology student publication, Inter Nos, a Catholic Mass Media Awards hall of famer, UST’s Senior Men and Women Taekwondo teams and Men’s Table Tennis teams, who posted a four-peat in their UAAP campaign, Architecture students who won the Cultural Center of the Philippines design contest, 23rd Southeast Asian Games medalists Alexander Briones and Gian Carlo Nocom, were among the honorees of the Benavides Award, an award given to students who won in regional, national, and international competitions, conferences, or congresses.

The Varsitarian, Communication Arts Students’ Association, and Pharmacy Student Council were among the 14 recipients of the St. Dominic de Guzman Award for outstanding teamwork in organizing activities significant to the Thomasian community.

The Pope Leo XIII Community Development Award, a citation for outstanding involvement in community development, was bestowed on seven organizations including the Theological Society and Medical Mission Inc.- Nursing and Student group.

Meanwhile, the Elementary Choir was given a special citation for their performance in the last Himig ng Pasko, which was aired over ABC-5 during the Christmas season.

Of bodies and babies


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.