Arts and Letters

After three years, the six-man team of AB finally brought home the bacon last year when they snagged the Pautakan revolving trophy. This grand slam victory was the pinnacle of the Artlets’ majestic comeback after a 12-year losing streak.

But now that Pautakan oldhands Armand Delfin and Wilfred Ritona are out of the game, eyebrows have been raised as to whether the remaining members can continue the legacy.

Two rookies may pose as a weakness to the team but the AB team is optimistic. Team captain and Behavioral Science senior Edeliz Tan believes their chances are still bright. “Lalaban kami, pero it’s better na makita nila ‘yung performance namin kaysa magsalita kami nang tapos,” she said.


Luck has been eluding this team for years since its championship in 1991 but the college remains patient. This year, the Education team clings to hope once more and prays that the tide will finally turn in their favor. It may take a tsunami, however, for this team to clinch a place in the top three since only two members are Pautakan-experienced. Even team captain Carolyn Anne Buen, who will also represent the college in the individual event, is a rookie. But now’s not the time to give up, and the team has worked on its Math and perfected History. Buen says her team is all geared up for the event.


With only one newbie in the team, Commerce has a better chance of crossing the eliminations and grabbing a spot in the finals. They landed fourth in last year’s edition and are now determined more than ever to hit the jackpot. This all-male group prepped up for the event with longer hours of practice and mock quizzes. They even rehearsed buzzing and writing on cards. They’re keeping an eye on the Medicine team but are still wary of AB and Engineering because “even without their key players, baka ‘yung momentum nandu’n pa sa kanila.”

Hindi handa sa krisis


The College of Science prides itself as the very first champion of Pautakan. But in recent years, the team has performed listlessly.

This year promises a more difficult challenge for them as only two veterans, Jalil Avila and Ralph Porneso, remain among the team of newbies, including Lorraine Buenaventura, Ainee Ramos, Gene Valdez, Archim John Tan and Cris Nuevo. But team captain Avila believes in the strong “potential of his new teammates.”


One of the winningest teams in Pautakan history, the Faculty of Medicine and Surgery is showing signs of spunk with its good performance last year. Its climb to second place surprised its contenders, but its poor buzzer-reflexes and inconsistency may be a hindrance.

As Pautakan veteran Charlemagne Aguinaldo finally hands over the captainship to Allen Sy, the team faces tough times because aside from Sy, Earl Sempio, and Lorenzo Tan, the rest are greenhorns: Miguel Antonio Cristobal, Carol Tagle and Pauline Trias.


The Faculty of Engineering is bent on revenge from its third place win last year, so Artlets better watch their backs. Although crippled with the absence of key player Germaine Ang, old-timers Yvette Taberna, Jennifer Balog, and Jerico Maliwanag, and new teammates Archie Co, Kevin Cruz, Andrew Tansisin, and Jay-R Santos promise to get even this year.

All eyes are on Cruz this and everyone is curious if he is a worthy successor to Ang for the individual category.


The College of Nursing is all revved-up this year with veterans Allen Brian Tsai, Ruff Joseph Cajanding, Christine Joy Tayamen, Jourdan Anthony Soriano, and Mary Anelle Dejon in the frontlines, and rookies Hilarious De Jesus and Vincent delas Peñas are eager to prove themselves. But the question is: are they ready to go? Their daredevil spirit may be their charm, but they need a lot of catching up to do or else, the honor may slip past them again.

A battle for the ages


The College of Rehabilitation Sciences struggled to regain the top spot in the Pautakan last year. However, CRS is eager to take the championship back. Winners in the 1998 and 2000 Pautakan editions, this seven-man team is all set for this year’s brain battle. Even if majority of the team are rookies like Jane Lopez, Herman Hsieh, Linelle Lao, and Arnold Aquino, individual category representative Eric Sañee said the team has had more time reviewing and has been preparing for the main event since December. Other members include James Nomus and team captain GV Liabres. Liabres said with more members this year as compared to previous years, they are ready for what they call a “touchdown.”


Having joined the Pautakan only two years ago, College of Architecture will be facing other veteran teams with seven whiz students in the Medicine Auditorium this year. This neophyte team is composed of Georgina De Vera, Eleanor Marie Santos, Aiko Ramirez, Micheal Vincent Uy, Ritchel Oliver Calay, Emmanuel Lisandro Plan and Mark Jeffrey Sio. Despite not having much experience in the Pautakan, Architecture will fight and give its best to have a place in the contest’s history.


Hopeful and eager to play despite a decade of drought, the Faculty of Pharmacy is gritty to make it to the finals this year. With its only championship in 1994, Pharmacy still has not regained its place on the Pautakan pedestal. However, team captain Shayne Villafuerte said the team has been training months ago and believes it has better chances of making it this year. Other Pharmacy team members Karolle Ann Medina, Stephanie Lao, John Vincent Saluanera, and Jarreau Spencer Chen are just as hopeful.

Artlets wins fourth straight Pautakan

“We do not expect anything this year. We will enjoy and play the game,” Villafuerte said. Ma. Charise Lauren C. Adonay, Ma. Cristina S. Lavapie, and Glaiza Marie A. Seguia


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.