TWO CIVIL Law freshmen and a Psychology senior will head the Varsitarian in its 85th year.

Former Special Reports editor Lorenzo Luigi Gayya was appointed editor in chief while former Witness writer Denise Pauline Purugganan is the new associate editor. Both are Journalism graduates. Joining them in the Editorial Board is former Science and Technology editor and Psychology senior Nigel Bryant Evangelista as managing editor.

Journalism senior Reden Madrid was retained as News editor, while fellow Journalism seniors Bernadette Nicolas, Carla Patricia Perez and Elora Joselle Cangco were appointed Assistant News, Sports, and Filipino editors, respectively.

Journalism juniors Kristelle Ann Batchelor and Gelyn Simon were named editors of the Special Reports and Witness sections, respectively, while Communication Arts junior Sarah Jenna Ramos was appointed Literary editor.

Legal Management senior Marianne Lastra was retained as Circle (Lifestyle and Arts) editor. Angelica Gabrielle Navarro, Advertising Arts senior, was also retained in her post as Art director.

Hotel and Restaurant Management senior Romina Louise Cunanan was appointed Features editor.

With the growing presence of the Varsitarian in social media through its multimedia news coverage, Journalism senior Yuji Vincent Gonzales was appointed its first Online editor.

Completing the pool of editors are Biology senior Giuliani Renz Paas and Architecture senior John Daniel Hirro, who were named Science and Technology and Photography editors, respectively.

The news reporters are Communication Arts junior Gena Myrtle Terre and Journalism students John Joseph Basijan, Lord Bien Lelay, Jon Cristoffer Obice, and Celton Ramirez. This year’s Sports writers are Pharmacy students Hedrix Ar-ar Caballe and Alexis Cerado and Journalism juniors Ralph Joshua Hernandez and Paul Kennedy Lintag.

Med alumni donate US $75,000

Marketing Management junior Jelina Anne Bunagan and Journalism students Michael Carlo Rodolfo and Andre Arnold Santiago are this year’s writers for Special Reports, while Secondary Education junior Mone Virmy Gumapac, Communication Arts senior Alfredo Mendoza V, and Journalism senior Catalina Ricci Madarang were named Features writers.

Faculty of Pharmacy sophomores Marie Danielle Macalino and Josef Brian Ramil were appointed writers for the Literary section. Asian Studies student Jonelle Marcos and Journalism senior Jonah Mary Mutuc comprise the Filipino section.

Covering for the Witness section are Journalism students Angeli Mae Cantillana and April Joy Dy.

Electronics Engineering senior Altir Christian Bonganay and Business Economics junior John Zerbon Ong were named Science and Technology writers. Ong will serve on a concurrent task as artist.

The Circle section is composed of Journalism students Elyssa Christine Lopez and Nikka Lavinia Valenzuela, Microbiology junior Juan Carlos Moreno and Physical Therapy sophomore Aliliana Margarette Uyao.

This year’s artists are Advertising seniors Karel Daye Gascon and Ma. Aurora Gonzales, while the photographers are Communication Arts students Jenzine Inah Alcantara and Nazzi Castro together with Advertising Arts students John Paul Autor, Keno Carlo Enriquez and Tristan Rafael Tamayo.

Philippine Daily Inquirer Arts and Books editor Joselito Zulueta remains the publications adviser. Journalism lecturer Felipe Salvosa II is still the assistant publications adviser.

This year’s staff went through a stringent selection process which included two examinations, a panel interview, and staff development activities.

This year’s selection committee was headed by Inquirer senior reporter and two-time Varsitarian editor in chief Christian Esguerra. The members were Commerce professor Eldric Peredo, former Varsitarian editor in chief, Palanca awardee and former Varsitarian associate editor Carlomar Daoana, and former Department of English chairperson Marilu Madrunio.

Online lynch mob and anti-Catholic humor


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.