The USTv Awards ushered in its first decade Thursday evening at the Plaza Mayor by recognizing television programs and personalities that encourage the youth to become responsible viewers.

With the theme “Makabuluhang Telebisyong Hinubog ng Kabataan Ngayon,” USTv’s 10th edition reduced its categories to 22 from last year’s 33 for a more filtered selection and more careful deliberation.

“Maaring maging mabisang batayan ng kanilang paniniwala, pagpapasya at pag-uugali ang telebisyon, kaya’t maging mapagmatyag sa mga mensahe sa likod ng mga programang binibigay nito,” said Vice Rector Fr. Richard Ang, O.P. in his opening remarks.

New categories such as the Outstanding Thomasian Media Personalities, which were awarded to Journalism alumni Arnold Clavio and Sandra Aguinaldo, were also introduced this year.

“Salamat UST sa paghubog sa akin na tangan-tangan ko sa mga desisyon ko sa propesyon na ito; ang maglingkod ng walang hinihintay na kapalit,” said an emotional Clavio as he received his award.

Aguinaldo dedicated her award to her former professors who, she said, molded her to be the journalist that she is today.

ABS-CBN was the night’s big winner after it bagged the Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Network and 15 other awards. GMA Network garnered six awards.

ABS-CBN daytime drama series “Be Careful With My Heart” bested the network’s weekly drama anthology “Maalaala Mo Kaya” as Students’ Choice of Drama Program, breaking the latter’s nine-year streak of winning the award.

ABS-CBN’s flagship newscast “TV Patrol” emerged as Best News Program, while “The Bottomline with Boy Abunda” won the Best Public Affairs Program award.

“Rated K’s” Lenten special, “Senakulo,” was named the Students’ Choice of Catholic Feature. “Natutuwa ako na may ganitong klaseng kategorya ang USTv Awards dahil nabibigyan ng karampatang pansin at encouragement ang mga ganitong ideya, maraming salamat,” said host Korina Sanchez.

ABS-CBN’s “Sports Unlimited” and its host Dyan Castillejo won Students’ Choice of Sports Program and Sports Personality, respectively. The Noli de Castro-hosted documentary “Kabayan Reports: Gusto Kong Mag-Aral” was awarded Students’ Choice of Documentary Special.

The network also dominated awards in the field of entertainment, including Best Reality Game Show and Game Show Host (“The Voice of the Philippines” and host Toni Gonzaga), Best Talk Show (“Kris TV”) and Talk Show Host (Toni Gonzaga for “The Buzz”), Best Variety Show and Variety Show Host (“It’s Showtime” and Anne Curtis, one of the show’s hosts), and Best Foreign Drama Program (“Rooftop Prince”).

GMA Network, meanwhile, dominated the news- and public affairs-related awards, including two nods to Jessica Soho as best News Host and Magazine Program Host, and her weekly program “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho” as Best Magazine Program. Soho was also named the Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Personality. Documentary show “I-Witness” won the award for Student Leaders’ Choice of TV Program.

Giving GMA its lone entertainment award was the comedy show “Bubble Gang,” as it earned its ninth award for Best Comedy Program.

ABS-CBN Foundation, GMA Kapuso Foundation, TV5’s Alagang Kapatid, and UNTV’s foundation were all recognized as Student Leaders’ Choice of Network Foundation.

In line with its 10th year, this year’s USTv featured a new trophy designed by Prof. Jaime de los Santos. Adapting the design of an open cable wire, the trophy had three different columns of blue, red and green colors signifying the Thomasian core values of Faith, Hope and Charity. John Joseph G. Basijan and Elyssa Christine A. Lopez


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.