March 20, 2015, 5:13 p.m. – TWELVE students, including three incumbent Central Student
Council (CSC) officers, on Thursday filed their certificates of candidacy ahead
of upcoming University-wide student council polls.

Eyeing the presidency are incumbent CSC secretary and
fourth-year Clinical Pharmacy student Rosevielentine Rosales, who will run
under the party Lakasdiwa, and third-year Management Accounting student Anna
Mariz Mangalili, who will run independently.

Incumbent CSC auditor Patricia Alexis Canoza, a second-year
Tourism student (independent), and fourth-year Architecture student John Louis
Tingzon (Lakasdiwa) are running for vice president.

Two junior Faculty of Arts and Letters students—Communication
Arts major Nazka Alecksia Tantay (Lakasdiwa) and Political Science major Maria
Yvonne Erica Yap (independent)—are seeking the position of secretary.

Management Accounting junior Lene Benette Gabriel
(Lakasdiwa) and Marketing Management freshman Roi Sergio Rey (independent) will
run for treasurer.

Vying for the position of auditor are CSC Chief of Staff
Zeth Renae Raquedan (independent), a third-year Medical Technology student, and
Veronica Raye Jalandoni (Lakasdiwa), a Financial Management freshman.

Interior Design sophomore Justin Miguel Co of Lakasdiwa and
first-year Chemical Engineering student Ranel Simon Rey (independent) also
filed their candidacies for the position of public relations officer.

The Central Commission on Elections (Comelec) said filing of
candidacy does not ensure a student’s eligibility to run in the upcoming
elections, as the poll body will still review their qualifications. It noted
that documents submitted by some applicants were deficient. Applicants were
given until 12 noon of March 23 to complete their requirements. The Central
Comelec will release the official list of candidates on the same day.

Former rector reminds 'V' to 'find reverence in silence' on 87th year

Lakas ng Diwang Tomasino (Lakasdiwa) is the only recognized
party this year, and thus the only political group allowed to field candidates
in the elections. The Central Comelec denied accreditation to the ruling party
Lakas Tomasino Coalition and Alyansa ng Kristiyanong Lakas for their failure to
submit some requirements on time.

The 12-day campaign period will be from March 24 to 28 and
April 7 to 15. Roberto A. Vergara, Jr.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.