June 22, 2015, 7:59 a.m. – FIVE Thomasians were recognized as “Outstanding
Professionals of the Year” by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC)
during its 42nd anniversary last June 18.

Thomasians Leila Florento, Teresita Barcelo, and Donald
Lipardo were awarded as the most outstanding professional medical technologist,
nurse, and physical therapist, respectively.

PRC also granted special citations to College of Education
Dean Clotilde Arcangel and College of Rehabilitation Sciences Faculty Secretary
Donald Manlapaz for their contributions to the fields of education and physical
therapy, respectively.

Florento earned her degree in medical technology from UST in
1977; while Barcelo finished her undergraduate studies in nursing in 1965,
master’s degree in 1972, and doctorate degree in 1989. Lipardo and Manlapaz
earned their physical therapy degrees in 1999 and 2006, respectively, while
Arcangel graduated with a degree in education in 1970.

PRC gives the Outstanding Professional of the Year award
following four major criteria: effective discharge of the profession’s social
responsibility through meaningful contribution and participation in sociocivic
related activities (10 percent), demonstration of highest professional
competence and integrity in the exercise of profession (30 percent), meaningful
participation in professional activities through the accredited professional
organization or any other professional organization (30 percent), and
significant contributions to the advancement of the profession (30 percent).

PRC started awarding the Outstanding Professional of the
Year in 1997 to recognize professionals who have demonstrated excellence in
their chosen fields. Dayanara T. Cudal and Robert A. Vergara, Jr.

Thes-is it


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.