(L-R) Nathan Agustin, candidate for president; Francisco Mayuyu, candidate for secretary; Benjamin Amper IV, candidate for treasurer; Dale Marollano, candidate for auditor; and Rhojen Sianda, candidate for public relations officer

FIVE independent candidates will run unopposed in the upcoming Central Student Council (CSC) Executive Board elections, the UST Central Commission on Elections (Comelec) announced on March 4.

Only five out of six CSC posts—president, secretary, treasurer, auditor and public relations officer—drew candidates during the filing of certificates of candidacy (COC) on March 1. There was no candidate for vice president.

There are still no accredited political parties this year, Comelec chairperson Lauren Eunice Navales said. 

The lone seeker for the presidency is outgoing Civil Law Student Council president Nathan Agustin.

“I needed to step up, especially because we are arriving at a critical point in many aspects. Our academic units are slowly transitioning to face-to-face, and our government is about to see a change in leadership this coming May,” Agustin told the Varsitarian. 

He said he would also elevate the platform for Local Student Councils (LSCs) and address their struggles since “by strengthening the (LSCs), we strengthen the (CSC).”

Francisco Mayuyu, a nutrition and dietetics sophomore and former UST Senior High School Student Council (SHS SC) secretary, was the only lone applicant for secretary. 

Accountancy junior Benjamin Amper IV and former SHS SC president Dale Marollano also filed for treasurer and auditor, respectively.

Rhojen Sianda, the chief of staff of the Conservatory of Music Student Council, was the sole applicant for public relations officer.

The campaign period will run from March 5 to 17 and from March 30 to April 2. The mandatory debates for the candidates will be held on the last day of the campaign period.

The election period will run from April 4 to 8, and the proclamation of the new CSC officers will be on April 8.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.