TWENTY senatorial aspirants will join the Commission on Elections’ (Comelec) Rundown 2022 Youth-Oriented Senate Elections Forum on March 12, which aims to inform young Filipino voters about the importance of their votes.

The list of senatorial candidates who will attend the forum is as follows:

  • Albani, Ibrahim (Workers and Peasants Party)
  • Bailen, Agnes (Independent)
  • Balita, Carl (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Cabonegro, Roy (Partido Lakas ng Masa)
  • Castriciones, Bro John (PDP-Laban)
  • Colmenares, Neri (Makabayang Koalisyon ng Mamamayan)
  • D’Angelo, David (Partido Lakas ng Masa)
  • Diokno, Chel (Katipunan ng Nagkakaisang Pilipino)
  • Espiritu, Luke (Partido Lakas ng Masa)
  • Gatchalian, Win (Nationalist People’s Coalition)
  • Gordon, Wow Dick (Bagumbayan Volunteers for a New Philippines)
  • Gutoc, Samira (Aksyon Demokratiko)
  • Hontiveros, Risa (Akbayan Citizens’ Action Party)
  • Labog, Elmer (Makabayang Koalisyon ng Mamamayan)
  • Lacson, Kuya Alex (Kapatiran Party)
  • Legarda, Loren (Nationalist People’s Coalition)
  • Matula, Sonny (Independent)
  • Pimentel, Astra (PDP-Laban)
  • Trillanes, Antonio IV (Liberal Party)
  • Zubiaga, Carmen (Independent)

The forum will be broadcast live on Rundown’s official Facebook page from 3 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. 

Viewers can engage with the senatorial candidates through panel discussions, question and answer sessions, and open forums.

Asst. Prof. Christian Esguerra of the Faculty of Arts and Letters will moderate the event. 

UST political science professor Louie Ignacio, former Ateneo School of Government dean Tony La Viña and University of the Philippines economics professor Cielo Magno will serve as panelists.

The Rundown Senatorial Forum has been held in time for the midterm and national elections since 2013.

This year, its theme is “Youth at the Forefront of Change: Transforming Conversations into Collective Action.”

The Varsitarian is a media partner of the forum.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.