ON ITS 80th year, the Varsitarian’s pearl batch displays an array of the best student writers from eight colleges and faculties in the University.

Andrew Isiah Bonifacio of the College of Nursing and Anthony Andrew Divinagracia, a Political Science student from the Faculty of Arts and Letters make up this publication year’s editorial board with Artlets professor Joselito Zulueta, also an editor and editorialist of the Philippine Daily Inquirer and chair of the National Committee on Literary Arts of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, as the publications adviser.

Bonifacio previously handled the Circle section as acting editor while Divinagracia was last year’s acting assistant sports editor.

On the other hand, Nursing seniors Raychel Ria Agramon, Myla Jasmine Bantog, and Celina Ann Tobias were appointed acting Features editor, Literary editor, and Science and Technology editor, respectively.

Medical Technology junior Kerwin Patrick Mercadal was named acting Photography editor.

Journalism seniors Jenny Lynne Aguilar and Ruben Jeffrey Asuncion were promoted acting Special Reports editor and acting Filipino editor, respectively.

Completing the 42-man staff of the Varsitarian’s 80th year are:

Verity Ayrah Cabigao, John Constantine Cordon, Danielle Clara Dandan, Hershey Homol, and Kristine Jane Liu (News); Heinz Jassen Brobo, Emil Karlo Dela Cruz, Paul Nicholas Dimerin, and Ana Mae Roa (Sports); Hershey Homol, Jonathan Eli Libut and Carla Rose Malupeng (Special Reports); Tanya Justine Baldovino and Ayn Rand Parel (Features); Fr. Santosh Digal, Yve Camae Espeña, Levine Andro Lao, and Nathaniel Melican (Witness); Alena Pias Bantolo and Francis James Gatdula (Science and Technology); Rieze Rose Calbay, Juanito Alipio Dela Rosa, Samuel Raphael Medenilla, and Maria Aurora Mon (Circle); Kristine Joy Dabbay, Roman Carlo Loveria, and Raydon Reyes (Literary); Joseinne Jowin Ignacio and Richard Lim (Filipino); Akemi Aida, Paulo Aurellano Empenio, and Lorenze Andrew Buenaventura (Photography); Michelle Angelique Canoy, Carlo Patricio Franco, and Matthew Noah Hebrona (Art).

Sa Kagubatan ng Isang Lungsod

This year’s Selection Committee was composed of Center for Creative Writing and Studies director and former Varsitarian literary editor Ophelia Dimalanta; former Varsitarian editors in chief Christian Esguerra of the Philippine Daily Inquirer and Felipe Salvosa II of the BusinessWorld; and English professors Pearl Fontilla of the Faculty of Engineering and former Varsitarian managing editor Adrian Montemayor of the College of Commerce.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.