March 6, 2016, 4:49p.m. – TO SIMULATE the experience of various workings of the United Nations (UN), participants from universities around the country gathered in UST in Mar. 2 to 4.for an annual mock UN simulation-conference.

The University hosted the third annual UST Model United Nations (MUN), a three-day academic experience and conference simulating committees of the UN with participants from different universities acting as the representatives of member states.

The MUN also serves as an avenue for the youth to be more knowledgeable on the issues surrounding the world, with this year’s theme “Resolving the Challenges in Today’s Era of Globalization” focusing on the impact of various international events to the global political climate. 

“It’s time for us to be more exposed not just [with] what’s happening [in] our country, but also on the global scale,” UST MUN Secretary General Dominique Reario said.

UST MUN has four different councils in addressing the current issues of the world, namely the UN General Assembly (UNGA), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), and UN Security Council (UNSC).

The UNGA successfully drafted a resolution about the recent developments in combating terrorism. Same case happened with UNESCO in preserving cultural heritage sites and ECOSOC on environmentally induced human displacement.

Meanwhile, UNSC failed to pass the resolution about the current Syrian conflict due to Russia vetoing the resolution.


Best Position Paper and Best Delegates

Selected delegates were given recognition for their effort in representing a country in their own committees on the third day of the event at the AMV Auditorium.

The following are the winners of Best Position Paper in their selected committees:


1st France – Desiree Maegan Ong of De La Salle University (DLSU)

2nd USA – Christian Fortich (UST)

3rd Canada – Marc Arnel Vanguardia (Ateneo de Manila University)

4th Belgium – Joshua Bernard Espeña from University of the East (UE)

5th China – Jan Christian Uy (Ateneo)


1st Afghanistan – Marc Adrian Tinguban (FEU)

2nd Spain – Julius Ceasar Reyes of De La Salle College of Saint Benilde (DLS-CSB)

3rd Vietnam – Mapple Anne Trieste of De La Salle University (DLSU)

4th Saudia Arabia – Mikaela Cloie Perez (DLS-CSB)

5th Republic of Korea –  Chelsea Maria Laong (UST)


1st Sweden – Sweden Alexis Mon Kisha Vivas (UST)

2nd Albania – Christopher Reyes (UST) and United Kingdom – Angelique Justine Sy (UST)

3rd Bolivia – Beatrice Isabelle Hernandez of Philippine Women’s University) & Guatemala – Royce Aguilar (UST)


1st – United Kingdom – Lillian Sherry Du (UST)

2nd USA – Thomas Noto Suoneto (Binus University)

3rd Nigeria – Sheillyn Pingol (UST)

4th Chile – Hannah Joy Alcomendas (DLSU-Dasmarinas)

5th France – Sophia Marionne Salonga (UST)


The following are the declared best delegates in their selected committees:


1st China – Jan Christian Uy (Ateneo)

2nd Azerbaijan – Gabriel Luis Dormiendo (UE)

3rd Austria – Jandell Villena Marcalinas (UST)


1st – Belarus – Jose Edgardo Rivera from the University of the Philippines

2nd – Argentina – Kiana Katherine Porras (UST)

3rd – Iraq – Teofilo Pugeda III (Ateneo)


1st Portugal – Alvin Lusikong (Binus University)

2nd Kuwait – Chacris Boaphuan (UE)

3rd Turkmenistan – Kathleen Cris Santiago (UST)


1st United Kingdom – Lilian Sherry Du (UST)

2nd France – Sophia Marionne Salonga (UST)

3rd Russia – Eduardo Lim Jr. (UE)

The UST MUN welcomed 270 delegates from different universities, including five participants coming from Indonesia and Vietnam. 

Started in 1945, MUN focuses on topics about diplomacy, international relations, and the UN itself, among others. Roy Abrahmn D.R. Narra


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.